We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good soup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #10 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,088 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“very good soup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had the soup and sandwich combo for lunch the soup of the day was tomato and roasted red pepper and it was very good the staff were friendly. The service was speedy and because I was only in Wells for a few hours this gave me more time for sightseeing

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good to hear you enjoyed your soup, speedy service and friendly staff, thank you. Do try and stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    207
    75
    53
    26
See reviews for
98
312
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have eaten at Anton's Bistro on several occasions this year and it is always very good but today at lunch they excelled themselves. Very interesting and tasty seafood cocktail, trout main course out of this world followed by strawberry and balsamic sorbet, excellent. And all that for £13! I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We often get overpriced and uninteresting food in pubs and restaurants so it is a delight to eat delicious and imaginative food as provided by the Bistro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Oooh, you are kind to write such lovely things and share with everyone. Thanks ever so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went to the Crown whilst staying in Wells.
My wife and I took our two young boys aged 7 and 10.

The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the service is excellent.

Our food was very good and enjoyed by us all. My only comment would be that I was served far to many fries with my stark which was very, very good.

Would we go there again? I definite yes :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your super trip advisor review. We're glad you decided to spend a bit of your birthday with us and enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I visited with three other guests on the busy Easter Sunday. We came in late but were served beautifully prepared and delicious dishes. They were so copious that we skipped the tempting desserts. If you park in front of the restaurant you have to renew the parking ticket every hour. A bit of a pain in the neck.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PekkaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciated the local produce element. The parking is a nuisance, isn't it? There is, however, a longer stay car park just down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Anton's Bistro is set within the Crown at Wells. They have a fantastic deal on at certain times throughout the week offering two courses for £10. We assumed it would be a standard light lunch.
Two of our party of three are vegetarian so we ordered the veggie quiche which was described on the menu as quiche with a side salad. We ordered extra fries to bulk up the meal. We needn't have, as the portions which arrived were so generous and included a home made coleslaw and potato salad. We took the fries away in a doggy bag!
The non vegetarian in our party said that his pork dish was the best he had ever eaten. The sticky toffee pudding we ordered to follow was really delicious.
We will definitely be returning next time we visit Somerset.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a super, glowing review, thank you. We're chuffed to bits and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visiting Wells we were looking for somewhere to refresh ourselves and couldn't have chosen better. Large selection of real ales and food for every palate at a reasonable price. We were so impressed with our visit to Wells for the day the we will return in the future and hopefully stay at the Crown as you cannot ask for a better location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hope1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a delightful review, thank you. Do come and stay; that'd be great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent breakfast, friendly staff. The 4 poster rooms are expensive for what you get. Market morning they set up early but we didn't have an issue with it. We expected a lot of noise the way the Manager warned us about it but we slept pretty much through it. Could do with some new pillows too, quite hard, although the bed was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the breakfast excellent and staff friendly. We are sorry to hear you found the four poster rooms expensive; our accommodation is competitively priced for Wells city centre. Your comment concerning the pillow duly noted, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#27 of 40 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Property: The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing