We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok pub food”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #11 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very busy on a Saturday lunchtime. It look a long time for the food to arrive. Unfortunately when it arrived my order was incorrect as I had asked for my burger to have one of the toppings left out. The waitress was very obliging and replaced it quite quickly, however the order was then wrong in another way. At that point I just ate it because I was starving after the long wait in the first place!
It was a decent burger, not especially out of the ordinary for the type of place.
My husbands steak sandwich was apparently really good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ACH999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Sorry for the mistake in your order; shouldn't have happened once, let alone twice. It is far from the norm. Good to hear your husband was happy with his steak sandwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for The Crown at Wells
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had the soup and sandwich combo for lunch the soup of the day was tomato and roasted red pepper and it was very good the staff were friendly. The service was speedy and because I was only in Wells for a few hours this gave me more time for sightseeing

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank 70ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Good to hear you enjoyed your soup, speedy service and friendly staff, thank you. Do try and stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have eaten at Anton's Bistro on several occasions this year and it is always very good but today at lunch they excelled themselves. Very interesting and tasty seafood cocktail, trout main course out of this world followed by strawberry and balsamic sorbet, excellent. And all that for £13! I would definitely recommend this restaurant. We often get overpriced and uninteresting food in pubs and restaurants so it is a delight to eat delicious and imaginative food as provided by the Bistro.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Oooh, you are kind to write such lovely things and share with everyone. Thanks ever so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went to the Crown whilst staying in Wells.
My wife and I took our two young boys aged 7 and 10.

The staff are very helpful and welcoming and the service is excellent.

Our food was very good and enjoyed by us all. My only comment would be that I was served far to many fries with my stark which was very, very good.

Would we go there again? I definite yes :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your super trip advisor review. We're glad you decided to spend a bit of your birthday with us and enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I visited with three other guests on the busy Easter Sunday. We came in late but were served beautifully prepared and delicious dishes. They were so copious that we skipped the tempting desserts. If you park in front of the restaurant you have to renew the parking ticket every hour. A bit of a pain in the neck.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PekkaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciated the local produce element. The parking is a nuisance, isn't it? There is, however, a longer stay car park just down the road.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Anton's Bistro is set within the Crown at Wells. They have a fantastic deal on at certain times throughout the week offering two courses for £10. We assumed it would be a standard light lunch.
Two of our party of three are vegetarian so we ordered the veggie quiche which was described on the menu as quiche with a side salad. We ordered extra fries to bulk up the meal. We needn't have, as the portions which arrived were so generous and included a home made coleslaw and potato salad. We took the fries away in a doggy bag!
The non vegetarian in our party said that his pork dish was the best he had ever eaten. The sticky toffee pudding we ordered to follow was really delicious.
We will definitely be returning next time we visit Somerset.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a super, glowing review, thank you. We're chuffed to bits and look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visiting Wells we were looking for somewhere to refresh ourselves and couldn't have chosen better. Large selection of real ales and food for every palate at a reasonable price. We were so impressed with our visit to Wells for the day the we will return in the future and hopefully stay at the Crown as you cannot ask for a better location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hope1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

What a delightful review, thank you. Do come and stay; that'd be great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#34 of 37 in Wells
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing