We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor experience ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #11 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor experience ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely looking place with the added appeal of the location of hot fuzz.

However after ordering it went down hill. We were a party of seven and two of our dishes came first, and then the other four came half an hour later. One of our party decided he wanted a refund after.

I had my meal first so I felt uncomfortable eating my meal while the rest of my party watched. Then it also was the same when I watched everyone else eat.

We mentioned our concerns but didn't feel like it was addressed or corrected.

Food was decent for myself, but my partners beef was very fatty.

I do not believe that it is good value for money.

Very disappointed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bearwaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment.
It would seem there was a breakdown in communication.
Your party was told there would be a wait for food and that, as orders had been placed separately, the dishes may not come together. The kitchen should have been told that your orders should have come together, where possible, to try and rectify this.
Not all members of your party had starters.
We are sorry you didn't mention your dissatisfaction with the beef when you were here as we could have addressed that.
A member of your party was given a refund and offered a drink by way of an apology for the wait for his dish.
We can only apologise again for any remiss on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    201
    73
    48
    24
See reviews for
93
303
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a historical hotel overlooking the market place in the very heart of Wells. Extremely convenient location, Wednesday and Saturday market days right on your doorstep and the Cathedral, Vicars Close and the Bishops Palace are only a few steps away. Very helpful reception staff with a warm welcome, bedrooms are really comfortable and bathrooms are clean and contain plenty of towels and accessories. We dined both inside one evening and outside on our 2nd evening. Very satisfied with the service and the food. We thought the menu had plenty of choice and the food was good. Breakfasts were equally excellent with plenty of choices both continental and full English. This is a genuine elizabethen property with character at every turn - oak beams etc. etc. I stayed in room 8 which is on the second floor to the rear. I found it very, very quiet with sloping ceilings and together with the oak beams it had charm and authenticity. Rooms at the front overlooking the market place are very roomy with original leaded light bay windows.

Room Tip: Market days are Wednesday and Saturday, remember the stands are set up during the night so activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich Norfolk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed at The Crown for two nights for our 30th Wedding Anniversary recently.We were encouraged by the many positive comments on tripadvisor & we were not disappointed...We were warmly greeted by the friendly staff upon our arrival.In our room we found a card on the bed wishing us a happy anniversary,a lovely personal touch,much appreciated.
We stayed in room 5,on the first floor over looking the pretty Market Square with an excellent view of the Cathedral.The room was plainly furnished,but had a comfortable four poster bed.There was also a sofa & armchair to lounge on while we enjoyed the tea,coffee,hot chocolate & biscuits on offer in the room.If you don't like UHT milk in those little pots,just ask for some fresh milk downstairs,no problem.
The en-suite bathroom was lovely...A good sized bathroom with a large shower & a spa bath as well!
Ate downstairs at Anton's Bistrot for evening meal & breakfast both days.Great food in nice surroundings!
All in all we had a lovely stay at The Crown & would stay there again & recommend it to others too.
Don't forget to purchase your own little Crown bear to take home...One was sitting on my pillow in our room :-)

Room Tip: Lovely spacious bathroom in room 5...Large shower plus a lovely bubbly spa bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurora736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We're thrilled you spent your anniversary with us and enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you for such a super review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although tiny, Wells is arguably one of the most beautiful cities in England and I don’t think there could be a better venue to stay that The Crown. Our room with a four poster bed overlooked the busy market square in which the pub is situated, from there one can choose to walk through either of two medieval gateways, one leading to the magnificent Cathedral Green, the other to the remarkable and fascinating Bishop’s Palace. Overall there is so much to see without straying more than around 200 yards from the hotel.

We felt welcome at The Crown from the moment we walked in and were given the key to our room on the first floor, which was of a very high quality in both it’s cleanliness and facilities. The bar was stocked with well-kept local beers – my recommendation try the Butcombe bitter – and the service is friendly, just a bit of shame that, like so many pubs these days, they seem to have opted for the modern décor rather than leave it with the cosy feel that we were used to some years ago. The restaurant meal good and, again if I may make bold, try ending a meal for two with the platter of local cows-milk, goats and ewes’ cheeses, very tasty.

But I’ll save my last word for the breakfast. A more than generous helping of eggs, bacon (multi-rashers), a huge and delicious sausage, potatoes, wild mushrooms, tomato, beans and black pudding! This was a treat beyond all expectations and totally negated the need for any lunch.

I won’t describe in detail the merits of the architectural attractions in Wells – centuries of travellers have been testimony enough to that. But I will mention one particular point of interest that captivated me – over the far side of the market square lies an interesting commemoration of Mary Rand’s World record and Olympic gold-winning long jump from the 1964 games. I actually remember it happening way back in my distant youth, but all these years later it should be of fascination to all sports fans.

Visit Wells, stay at The Crown, treat yourself….what a weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a good time in Wells.
Good to hear breakfast set you up for the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Inn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband on our 12th July for our anniversary weekend. We stayed in room 3. Check in was quick and easy and all staff seemed polite and helpful.
Our room was very spacious and full of charm, the bed was so comfy. We overlooked the market square and didnt find any problem with the noise and even slept with the windows open. We ate our evening meal in Antons Bistro, highly recommended! This perfect little gem was fabulous and I cant wait to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
How lovely you chose The Crown to spend your anniversary.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our first visit to Wells, what a lovely city, the market it well worth a look round. We stayed 3 nights from 1st July. Our room was lovely, nice touches like chocolates on arrival and bottled water as well as the usual tea and coffee. Loved the teddy on the bed and rubber duck in the bathroom. We were in room 14 overlooking the market place and knew that the market was the next day so thought the earplugs provided would come in handy but the bed was so comfy that we didn't stir. Good breakfast cooked to order even the toast (I hate the DIY toasters a lot of hotels go for). We also ate in the bar and restaurant and the food was excellent. Our only niggle was that the throw on the bed looked grubby, we mentioned it on leaving and were assured that it would be dealt with. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor; we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry about the bed throw, far from the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have had a number of meals at the Crown and always found the staff polite and efficient. The food was excellent and complimented by a great wine list. We ended up in the bar and were surprised by the great range of gins on offer. Will certainly be back there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
Good to hear you enjoyed your meal and visit to the bar.
We've plenty of vodka available too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#23 of 40 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Property: The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing