We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cathedral View

Cathedral View Townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral View Townhouse
Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor from the family room Wells Cathedral from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cathedral View Townhouse
Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor from the family room
Wells Cathedral from the house
Family Room
Ensuite to the Family Room
New shower room on the first floor
New shower room on the first floor
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen and Dining area
Patio Garden
Aerial view of Wells Cathedral and the house
Wells Cathedral and the green
The city of Wells
The Bishop's Palace
Floorplan - Ground Floor
Floorplan - First Floor
Floorplan - Top Floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joyce574
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect base to explore Wells and surrounding areas. Within walking distance of the Cathedral, the property is spacious with a lovely outlook, excellent bathroom facilities. The owner Suzanne was helpful from the start and provided lots of useful information from the outset.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilary b
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice House - Well Equipped and Clean”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Spacious modern house, well equipped and clean. Good flow in the showers.
Quiet area. Lots of notes/manuals on how to use all the equipment.

Only gripe is that the heating is not very quick to warm the house and it is not on when you arrive. We arrived at 8:30pm on a winter's evening and the house still wasn't fully warm 2 hours later.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review Hilary. I am sorry that the heating took so long to come on, it now transpires that the boiler was coming to the end of it's life. We have now replaced the boiler and have a Hive system so that we can switch the heating on remotely so that the house is nice and warm for guests when they arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well located in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great property for a family reunion, walking distance from the cathedral and city centre pubs and restaurants. Enough to see and do for a long weekend without using the car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic luxury accomodation in the heart of a stunning location”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What can I say from start to finish my family and I had a wonderful time at cathedral view. including the extreme pleasure of dealing with Suzanne the owner.

Suzanne (the owner) was extremely accommodating and an absolute pleasure to deal with. We were provided with a wealth of information and very clear directions about the property itself. The communication was excellent and she really helped add to the experience making everything very easy and clear for us.

The property itself was everything we expected and more. it was a real home away from home. Finished to a very high level we had more than enough space for me, my wife and our 3 children (aged 12, 6 & 4). It was a real adventure for them. The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well for the duration of our stay. The Kitchen was very well supplied and we had all the utensils we needed and more.

As you will see from the pictures you are well within walking distance (5 - 10 mins) of the cathedral / bishops palace and of course town for some fantastic local shops where there is a wide variety of great food to eat and indulge...there is also a supermarket close by if you are looking to get some supplies for home cooking.

All in all a fantastic stay and I have already enquired about returning now we have found this gem..

perfect....thank you for our memorable getaway

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1256Rob
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The perfect location for visiting Wells,Somerset”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just 10 minutes walk from Wells Cathedral, the house (Cathedral View) is i deal for couples and/or parties of up to seven visitors.

It is well appointed, in a quiet location and unusual for the city centre, it offers off road parking.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location
Liked least: The towels were rather hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauralee...
Safety Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment , Fantastic location”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with family visiting from Perth Western Australia.This beautiful apartment In Wells was a lovely place to stay. Clean, fully equipped, roomy and comfortable. Suzanne was friendly and very accommodating wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddie66
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house for families”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed with another family over a weekend . Ample space for 8 in very well appointed house in great location . Couldn't fault it. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing