We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cathedral View

Cathedral View Townhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral View Townhouse
Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor from the family room Wells Cathedral from the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Cathedral View Townhouse
Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor from the family room
Wells Cathedral from the house
Family Room
Ensuite to the Family Room
New shower room on the first floor
New shower room on the first floor
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Dining area
Kitchen and Dining area
Patio Garden
Aerial view of Wells Cathedral and the house
Wells Cathedral and the green
The city of Wells
The Bishop's Palace
Floorplan - Ground Floor
Floorplan - First Floor
Floorplan - Top Floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cathedral View was comfortable and well equipped providing everything required for our stay. Close to all amenities with a splendid view of the Cathedral from the top bedroom suite. Suzanne very kindly allowed us to see the Royal Wedding before leaving on the Saturday - a considerate gesture and much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Immaculate”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

When you step into the property, it smells fresh and everywhere is immaculate. There was a smell of freshness everywhere. The location is excellent, because it is in a Mews and 10 minutes walk to the Town centre it is lovely and quiet. The beds were comfortable and all had lovely furniture. The Courtyard at the back was lovely to sit out in of an evening, or as we did early breakfast. We will be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean C
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Good Place to stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Excellent location it really is just under 10 minutes to the centre of Wells. House is very nice and well equipped. We were just 3 but there is plenty of room for 6 people and an ample supply of plates, cutlery and glasses. Wells is a good centre to stay in for touring around, plenty of National Trust places to visit and Bristol is only 45-50 minutes away. My only criticism is that there did not seem to an ironing board even though an iron was provided.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for choosing Cathedral View for your short break and for your kind review. All feedback (good and bad) is important to us as it helps us to improve our customer service and guest experience. I'm pleased that you liked the house and it's location within Wells.

I'm so sorry that you couldn't find the ironing board! It was in the family bedroom at the top of the house lying behind the sofa. We put it there because we didn't want it to fall on anyone and we don't have any cupboards to store it in! I will make sure that we put a note in our guest folder telling guests of the location of the ironing board.

Thank you once again for your feedback - it is much appreciated.

Suzanne - Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarnLM
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base for a stay in Somerset”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Cathedral View as 2 families of 3. The house was perfectly situated to explore Somerset and Wells city centre is a short troll away with its beautiful Cathedral and lovely pubs and restaurants. The house had absolutely everything we needed, is really spacious and beautifully maintained. The owners were incredibly helpful and a pleasure to deal with - I would definitely recommend a stay here and we would love to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty E
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a big group!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Quiet but easily accessible to Wells and the surrounding area, this well furnished house was perfect for our group of 7. Suzanne (the owner) was incredibly helpful and great to communicate with. This is the second time we have stayed here and hopefully we will be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce574
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect base to explore Wells and surrounding areas. Within walking distance of the Cathedral, the property is spacious with a lovely outlook, excellent bathroom facilities. The owner Suzanne was helpful from the start and provided lots of useful information from the outset.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilary b
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice House - Well Equipped and Clean”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Spacious modern house, well equipped and clean. Good flow in the showers.
Quiet area. Lots of notes/manuals on how to use all the equipment.

Only gripe is that the heating is not very quick to warm the house and it is not on when you arrive. We arrived at 8:30pm on a winter's evening and the house still wasn't fully warm 2 hours later.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review Hilary. I am sorry that the heating took so long to come on, it now transpires that the boiler was coming to the end of it's life. We have now replaced the boiler and have a Hive system so that we can switch the heating on remotely so that the house is nice and warm for guests when they arrive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing