We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little hotel, but a little bit Fawltey Towers!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beryl B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beryl B & B
Ranked #2 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely little hotel, but a little bit Fawltey Towers!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We have just returned home from a weekend break in somerset, staying a Beryl B&B, and felt totally compelled to write a reveiw about it. The B&B was 'Eccentrically English' is the best way to describe it! we were greeted upon arrival (which was rather late evening) by the owner who was very agreeable, we were also greeted by a host of cats. The room was perectly adicuate we were at the very top of the house and it was rather difficult to manouver our suitcase up and along very narrow stairs and hallways, but that said the room was very comfotable with all the ammenities you would expect, although we were met with a rather large fungus of some descrition in the showeroom, which was discovered by the cleaner the following day and removed. breakfast was marvelous probably the best cooked breakfast i have had at any hotel stay. the staff we had contact with were all very nice although in the time we stayed, three days we really didn't have much contact with anyone at all and at times it was as if we were the only people there.
Anyway to summerise the B&B was lovely and our stay was pleasent and comfortable, and could not have been more English countryside hotel if it had tried x would recomend this B&B to anyone is looking for a very quite break, but not to anyone looking for an exciting break away :) xxx

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammiejaneessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
184
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

This is not your average B&B! A huge Victorian country house in its own secluded grounds, giving you the feeling of a 150-year time-warp as soon as you step inside the door - almost as if you are a 19th-century weekend house-party guest, there for the hunting and the croquet. Why are the other guests not wearing brocade waistcoats or crinolines? Rooms vary in size - some are magnificent bay-windowed south facing suites with four-poster beds - others more modest, but everywhere throughout the house, there are amazing collections of antiques: porcelain, paintings, furniture, books, which would be the envy of many museums. There is something of a house-party atmosphere, which not everyone may like: breakfast, although sumptuous and beautifully presented, is taken mainly at large communal tables, where a little polite conversation seems to be expected. - the same applies to the small but elegant "honesty bar". There is a feeling of security about the place - as if you belonged to the rich Victorian upper class, living in comfort on the hilltop.

We booked for two nights, with our small dog, who enjoyed the grounds , only to discover on arrival that their winter rates allowed for a third night free of charge! Of course we stayed on. The owners and staff were most helpful - staying in the background but quickly coming when we rang the big brass bell. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

My girlfriend booked this for me for my birthday, and when we arrived, we were upgraded three levels as we were the only people staying at the hotel that evening! This had no change to the atmosphere, which was just as pleasant as it would have been had there been other people staying that night.

The surroundings were absolutely beautiful with lovely gardens, tranquil settings and a very peaceful area.

The breakfast was probably the best I had experienced at a hotel ever. As we were the only couple staying, we went down to breakfast the following morning, to discover a whole array of choices ranging from juices to yoghurts with toast, fruits etc. No cooked breakfast though, until a member of staff came through asking what we would like for our cooked breakfast!

It was a shame we were only able to stay there for one night as we would go back there in an instant. It was a very memorable visit.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muse_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

We have stayed in several places near Wells and Bath, this beats them all. Although it is described as "B and B" it is much more than that. Set in wonderful spacious grounds (you can go for a walk in the grounds, and there is a swimming pool - not open when we visited). The house is a wonderful old mansion, incredibly well looked after, full of beautiful furniture and very sympathetically decorated. The host, Holly can not do enough for you - if you want to experience something a bit like staying with gentry in a country house, this comes close. A cosy room with an "honesy bar" is a great place to relax and read the papers, the rooms are a good size, and the breakfast and the breakfast room a really fabulous experience, we will go again, and sorry we have taken a little while to write this - definitely go, you will not regret it.,

  • Liked — the beautiful building and facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed at Beryl for one night on our way to S Ives and we can highly recommend it. A fantastic house full of character; a warm welcome and such a warm welcome from the owner on the night we arrived. A really homely atmosphere; a perfect location just minutes from Wells. Other ther guests had clearly visited a number of times before and you can see why. Our bedroom overlloked the back of the hotel with views of Wells Cathedral and it was beautifully furnished.

If you want the perfect, relaxing hotel away from it all, it does not come any better than this.

We will definitely be coming back for more than one night next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting Wells. We had one of the rooms on the top floor but it was comfortable and had a lovely view down into Wells. Rooms were very clean and in keeping with the beautiful house. Breakfast was well presented and arranged in a way that you mixed with the other guests. Food choice was extensive from kippers through to a traditional full english with added option to go continental with ham and cheese.

One place we shall visit if we are in this area again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNAPPER102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Wells for a wedding, and could easily have stayed for a week. The high-ceilinged rooms are comfortable, airy and in keeping with the beautiful house. The staff were very helpful and Holly the owner was very attentive. The honesty bar and beautiful Drawing Room were nice touches ( and very welcome after a long drive down!). Breakfast was wonderful with a full range of food available from kippers and porrige through to a traditional full english with the option of a continental buffet. The pool was open ( but we didn't try it!)

We would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wockwabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beryl B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beryl B & B

Property: Beryl B & B
Address: Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beryl B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beryl B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beryl B & B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing