We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Wells Cathedral
from US$606.63
More Info
from US$647.08
More Info
from US$1,024.54
More Info
Reviews (3,799)
Filter reviews
3,799 results
Traveller rating
3,076
607
86
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,076
607
86
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapter house scissor arches quarter hour medieval clock well worth a visit jousting knights beautiful building jesse window suggested donation voluntary donation awe inspiring stained glass take photos free entry architecture cloisters choir
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 3,799 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2019 via mobile

The photos taken don’t do this building enough justice. The rain was hammering it down as I was taking photos and admiring what was standing before me. Great to see up close and from a distance.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank lDrMiguelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

On a damp morning we walked round this garden. It looked great with lots of different flowers and shrubs. Due to the wells its a great water garden and full of interest, and well maintained.m

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank mikgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

We visited on a very wet day in October and from the moment we walked in we were greeted by smiles & helpful staff. We took our well behaved Labrador with us and she was made to feel so welcome by everyone it really made our trip very special.
Other reviewers have mentioned the voluntary donation, I have to say that we felt £6 for an adult to be very good value given how beautiful the building was, they aren’t cheap to upkeep!!
All in all we would highly recommend Wells Cathedral and their cafe where the three of us had a lovely lunch (free homemade dog biscuits too!) and other places (listen up Stourhead) could learn a thing or two from the team here.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank mmlabbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

The Cathedral is beautiful, lots to see and history to read.

We are a family with very two small children. We checked the website before which said it was free entry but donations obviously welcome. However on arrival you are greeted by a manned donation desk with suggested fees of entry £6 for an adult (£15 for a family), complete with credit card reader! We were made to feel very pressured into handing over a donations so I dug £10 out of my bag! The annoying thing is some people will just walk in paying nothing. If you are going to charge just charge!! We would of made a donation anyway but just don’t like been pressured into it made quite an expensive 15min visit! Difficult to look at anything with a toddler and 11week old baby!!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank beckyb816
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellsCathedral, Public Relations Manager at Wells Cathedral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2019

Hi Becky. I can understand your concern, and thank you for leaving a comment. The reason we have the donations desk is because the Cathedral is so expensive to run (about £4000 a day), so we just wouldn't survive without the generosity and support of visitors! I hope your visit was worth it, nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019

A truly marvellous visit to a splendid cathedral. We joined a free guided tour of the cathedral with our guide Jo who was knowledgable, very humorous and witty. She was always happy to answer questions and ensure that we could all understand and see the points of interest. The tour took approximately an hour and it was well worth it as we would have missed many interesting features without Jo's help.
I would highly recommend this to anyone and an absolute just if you're visiting Wells.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank StanleyGBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews