We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brendon”
Review of Market Place Cafe

Market Place Cafe
Ranked #48 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brendon”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Just put on a gluten free diet,so expected to have to forgo my favourite toasted tea cake,but no!gluten free is on the menu,as are numerous other delicious gluten free bites,well done Crofters

Helpful?
3 Thank Wilma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cafe/Tea shop”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited crofters for tea and cake. Nice and spacious inside although rather clinical and not very warming. Cakes didn't look or taste homemade. Do offer gluten free. Great for our pit stop but nothing special. Was nice to find something different than a coffee shop!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dowdow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very tasty and homely cafe”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We went to the crofters today for a quick bite to eat at lunch. The cafe is charming with plenty of seats and a wide selection of drinks, cakes, snacks and sandwiches. Staff we're lovely and food was gorgeous with generous portions. Only reason it didn't get 5 stars was as it was a bit on the expensive side.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful bank holiday breakfast”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Food choice was great and delivered superb scrambled egg and salmon. Staff very attentive and friendly. Nice to see they have regulars and can remember individual needs. Definitely go back when in town next. Thank you

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madd0g_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great cafe, nice people, lovely location.”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We visit this café every 2 weeks or so while my daughter is riding in Wookey Hole.
For £5 plus coffee this is the nicest cooked breakfast you'll find anywhere in Somerset. With my local kit car club we usually find somewhere to eat most Sundays, so I have a good knowledge of what is out there. This place is up there with the best.

The staff are lovely, always happy and willing to help, plus you Wells to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixie6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Place Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Market Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing