We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at Crofters”
Review of Market Place Cafe

Market Place Cafe
Ranked #48 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Crofters”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

What do most diners want in a West Country breakfast? The answer is Good quality local produce freshly cooked to order, simple as that. It's a great venue with lots of potential. Given the choice in Wells maybe the owner or chef should eat around at the competition and realise that others are doing it better. I believe in encouragement and therefore rather than voting on my feet, I will be back, but please don't serve me bacon and cheap sausages which were cooked the day before on a plate which consists 1/3 baked beans. The staff were great but when you probably could do it better yourself.............

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjppmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Still my eatery of choice for lunch in Wells.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I periodically meet a friend for lunch here, and I have to say it is one of the nicest places to each your lunch in Wells and the standard is always consistent. The food is well prepared and not over priced. The staff are really friendly and even at busy times we have not had to wait very long for our food. Plenty of seating inside and also an outside area. This can feel a bit odd on market day when the area gets crowded but if, like me, you like to people watch this won't be an issue. I will undoubtedly return here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Mids
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Quality but not cheap.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Quality of the food was good and service reasonably fast but at nearly £30 for four baguettes and four drinks just a bit too far, even for a “Tourist Trap”.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HippyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brendon”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Just put on a gluten free diet,so expected to have to forgo my favourite toasted tea cake,but no!gluten free is on the menu,as are numerous other delicious gluten free bites,well done Crofters

Helpful?
3 Thank Wilma32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cafe/Tea shop”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We visited crofters for tea and cake. Nice and spacious inside although rather clinical and not very warming. Cakes didn't look or taste homemade. Do offer gluten free. Great for our pit stop but nothing special. Was nice to find something different than a coffee shop!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dowdow10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Market Place Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Market Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing