We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascination tour for all ages”
Review of Burcott Mill

Burcott Mill
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Wells
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Burcott Mill is a traditional water-powered flour mill, one of only 50 still operating in the UK today. uilt in 1863, this mill is still producing high quality quality organic stone-ground flour using the traditional methods and machinery that were employed 150 years ago. In the Summer months of July August and September, the miller conducts tours at 3pm on Wed, Thurs, Fridays and Saturdays. Go to the Burcott Mill Website for more information
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascination tour for all ages”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We took our sons 6 and 9 on the Tour run by the miller, Steve French. He was interesting and knowledgeable and the actual water mill itself, grinding wheat grain and spelt is a fantastic piece of history. The leat is apparently over a thousand years old. I know our boys will remember this special place and I'm glad we went to Wookey to visit it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank limebluepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanmore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real flour milling”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went on the mill tour with family and sister in law. Fantastic visit. Flour milling at its simplest and best. Steve,s tour was excellent and really explained all the parts of the flour milling process to everyone present. Bought some bread and flour after tour. I hope I can turn it into bread that is as good as the bread we bought from the mill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudMu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful visit to historic mill”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed our visit, despite the wet afternoon.
Steve, the owner and miller, showed us round and we were taken with his enthusiasm for this historic mill and the art of milling the flour.
After the tour we met Louise, his wife, who was happy to chat as she served us a delicious cream tea with scones made from their own flour.
We left with a bag of flour each and a promise to tell our friends about this hidden gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudybirdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pleasant visit”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We took three children to the Burcott Mill tour,and found it well worth the visit.The children enjoyed it as much as the adults,after the tour, we had tea and cakes(delicious homemade).I asked the miller if he had any litterature on the mill,he replied "not at present,but i can email you the information.which he promptly did the next day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Enjoyed the experience when I finally located the Mill”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent a very enjoyable couple of hours at this historic mill. The tour was informative and refreshments rather more-ish. Also able to purchase milled flours and fresh bread - very tasty too!
One criticism is that there were no leaflets available to take away and pass on to relatives who would also enjoy the experience.
I would go back again though ......

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murcia232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burcott Mill also viewed

 

Been to Burcott Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing