We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't find better than this.”
Review of Belleview House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belleview House
Ranked #1 of 24 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

What a fantastic place. Ellie is the perfect example of a host. Nothing was too much trouble or effort. Homemade cakes and tea on arrival. Chocolates and bottled water in the room, were an added and unexpected bonus.

We stayed in the twin room, which was beautifully decorated and very neat and clean. A real home away from home feeling. Clearly the owners take great pride in their castle and it shows.

Breakfast was second to none. I had eggs florentine, which really hit the mark and set me up for the hiking ahead.

I can't recommend this B&B enough. This would be my first choice for a B&B in the Wells area. Simply superb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Griffiths2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed in the twin room for two nights and it was completely delightful! Elle is a wonderful hostess while breakfast is amazing - a wide spread of fruit, cereal, pastries and cooked food. The room itself was clean, cosy and comfortable. I will always book here when travelling down to Wells.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubic-cube85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were treated royally. Beautiful room, tastefully furnished, ample wardrobe space and comfortable bed. The daily offerings of cake were lovely and the breakfasts absolutely splendid.
Ellie is a born hostess. Nothing is too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of October and couldn't have wished for a better more welcoming hostess, more comfortable room or more food choice at breakfast. Tea and cake on arrival is a lovely touch. If we are in the area again we wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you Ellie.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Technicalkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friend and I, both seniors really loved this B&B.During our 3 weeks in England and 9 B&Bs this place and the one we stayed at in York were the very best, they were outstanding. We got lost in Wells and called Ellie who gave us good directions and was waiting for us when we arrived. She grabbed our luggage and took us to our room upstairs. Then suggested that we have tea and rest which we did. We discovered some wonderful homemade shortbread cookies. You can see why we loved it. The B&B is very well located, close to both the cathedral area and the charming downtown. Our room was nicely decorated and functioned well as did the bathroom. Her breakfast is amazing; homemade pastries, lots of fresh fruit cheese and some great selections as Eggs Benedict and Eggs Florentine, both delicious. Our big regret was that we couldn't stay longer. If I were doing our trip again I would use Belleview House as a base to see Winchester and Salisbury area. We Really hated to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjpanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at Belleview for one night (17/09/13) and can honestly say the B&B deserves its top rating. Ellie welcomed us on arrival with a lovely tray of tea and cake which we enjoyed whilst settling in our room. The twin room we stayed in was excellent and had everything we needed. Parking is included so it worked out perfectly for us to park the car on arrival then walk around the city. The B&B is situated perfectly just on the edge of town and is an easy 10min stroll to get to the Cathedral and High Street. The breakfast table was amazing with so many choices fresh fruit (including kiwi, strawberry, pineapple etc.), yoghurt, cereal and that's before the full English breakfast we chose. A lovely B&B which we can thoroughly recommend and hopefully we will return to if we are in this wonderful area again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeniorTrippers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had the best welcome ever from Ellie, she goes that extra mile. Leaving chocolates, biscuits home made cakes and bottles of water in your room each day. The breakfast table is fabulous, everything very fresh and tasty. Was happy to give advise on places to eat and visit. The location is excellent for visiting Wells itself and the surrounding areas. Would definitely stay her again and advise anyone wishing to visit Wells to stop her.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 24 in Wells
357 reviews
1.8 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Crown at Wells
The Crown at Wells
#6 of 24 in Wells
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 24 in Wells
287 reviews
2 mi away
Coxley House
Coxley House
#4 of 24 in Wells
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belleview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleview House

Address: 37 New Street, Wells BA5 2LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £37 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleview House is a stylish family home with chic interiors.Ideally situated just 5 minutes level walk from the Cathedral and Market Place.Off road private parking,easy to find on main A39 into Wells.5 beautifully appointed rooms all ensuite with Wifi,flatscreen TV/DVD,fine bed linen and fully Christy towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belleview House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing