We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional meal in delightful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheppey

The Sheppey
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: Grill, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great pub with gastropub credentials, charcoal cooker from spain, very assured cooking with a twist, real ales, craft beers, local ciders, belgium beers, cocktails, great decor , artwork and drinks, it can also seat 100 people next to the river. sawday winner, good food guide, camra, and tweeted by Britney Spears(true)
Well, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal in delightful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have had yet another delicious and unusual meal, served in a very friendly and efficient manner. The local ukelele band were playing in the next room, so we were entertained as we dined.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saddlecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    131
    44
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The' Inn crowd'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is always something to look forward to - a trip to the Sheppey! In fact I'm going there again tonight as it is my local pub!
There is a great choice of beers and ciders and the food is fab. You need to be chilled about the service - they are usually quite busy. You can try the beers if you are unsure which is very helpful.
I'm not sure I'd go again on ukulele night ( Tues once a month?)....it was less funky than I expected ( more W.I outing). However, I am gutted to be missing a great band this Friday ....grrr. Hope you all enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jowrightSomersetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great food and lively atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were on holiday in godney and went for dinner to the sheepey.The prawn cocktails were superb as recommend by a previous reviewer. For mains the belly pork was cooked to perfection and I would highly recommend it.The service was as it should be and overall the evening was a delight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Got a bit lost finding this little gem , but we'll worth the travel . Beautiful pub , quirky & interesting. I loved how you could see the chefs cooking here, the food was exceptional , great presentation & finishing touches . I had the vegetarian option burger it was beautifully cooked , the bread bun delicious and the triple cooked chips nice & crisp not soggy. My only criticism would be the veg burger wasn't filled with much veg - it was quite a carbohydrate based meal with the bun & chips but the lentils in it were lovely. Overall if you fancy something a bit different & a meal to remember this is the place to come . Look forward to returning on a live music night .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funky and different. Food, beer, service, atmosphere - all great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a very "different" family friendly gastro-pub. Yes it is a bit in the middle of nowhere but worth the trek. It is easy to miss - you could easily drive straight by and not realize you just passed an unusual pub, let alone a decent restaurant.

The people running this place all seem to be young and funky - I assume this is where the unusual atmosphere comes from. It is quite different to other local pubs and once we got over the surprise of having just walked into some sort of busy pub-tardis. it was quite a refreshing change. We were greeted as we walked through the door by a smiling barman who was very keen to explain the wide choice of proper beers, including some they make themselves. They even let you taste a beer or two first if you are not sure what you want.

The restaurant staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was all served pretty quickly except for our dessert and it was explained when we ordered that the chocolate souffle-like dish would be made specially so it might take a little while.

The kitchen is all open on one side and looked pretty good to us too.

Whilst the food is great don't expect fine dining. This is top-restaurant quality food served casual pub-style and the pub is a little eccentric at that.

We are not generally fans of "family friendly" places but The Sheppey is plenty big and open enough this was not a problem at all - don't let it put you off.

Oh and there is a raised deck area at the back that appears to be overlooking a little brook/river. We didn't get to try it because it was heaving at the time but I bet it would be nice on a sunny afternoon.

We were surprised to find it so busy very early on a Thursday evening. If you want to eat here on a Friday night or weekend you should definitely book in advance. Parking space outside is a bit limited but we were able to park on the road OK.

The small stage area suggests they have live music occasionally. We were glad there wasn't any on whilst we were there but if you particularly want a peaceful dinner you may want to check their web site to see what is on.

We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sheppey also viewed

 

Been to The Sheppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing