We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house with lovely owners”
Review of Coxley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coxley House
Ranked #3 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. Julia was a wonderful hostess... couldn't do enough for us and Mark entertained us enormously at every opportunity. The breakfasts were delicious as was the tea and cake Julia provided for us upon arrival. The house is large, comfortable and one I wish I lived in and is a short drive to Wells and Glastonbury. We were provided with maps and recommendations for places to visit. We really enjoyed their four dogs and their garden too. Truly a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great. This is a wonderful bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanzanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Coxley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

There aren't words enough to describe the 5* welcome and hospitality of our hosts. We had a wonderful time. The house, its furnishings and location are stunning. We were met with generous quantities of tea and home made cake and nothing was too much trouble - even our very early Sunday morning breakfast. Breakfasts were fantastic - local Old Spot bacon, sausages and marmalade, delicious smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Julia insisted on driving us to our venue twice. I then left something behind and it was posted back straightaway. Definitely one to return to. Book it now! I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We said we would go back as we had such a lovely time last year, so we did. Delighted to say all is still excellent. We still feel it would be difficult to find a better B&B; rooms and house, location, hosts, all continue to be superb. We're already trying to work out when we can go again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Although we arrived in pouring rain we were met by Julia with umbrella at the ready! Tea and cakes were served on arrival and we were welcomed by Julia and Mark. We were most delighted with all aspects of this lovely country house. The room was beautifully furnished with family antiques and the bed was so comfortable we just wanted to lie in.. But then we may have missed the lovely breakfast, lovingly served. Absolutely faultless and the views from the meadow of Glastonbury Tor and Wells Cathedral were priceless. We must return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highflyer1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Coxley House is a beautiful, secluded home a few minutes from the town of Wells. Best to ask for driving instructions, because it is well hidden from the road. The hostess is gracious, friendly and provides a great breakfast. I appreciated the quiet, well-decorated room and strolling in the walled garden. The fields beyond the gate have views of Wells Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor. If you're a walker, local footpaths connect Coxley with the town and beyond.

Room Tip: Stayed in the blue room--great
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beautiful room and attention to detail and so well looked after. I will be going back to have those wonderful breakfasts, relax in the garden, look at the view and share the wine!! I spent three nights there to attend a special service in Wells Cathedral and could not have chosen a better place. I have told all my friends that if they want a short break away in an excellent country house, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly3524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our hosts Julia and Mark welcomed us to their beautiful country house with open arms.
Nothing was too much trouble. Tea and homemade biscuits were served in the lounge on our arrival and Julia even drove us into Wells for a concert at the cathedral.
A huge bed with linen that you sunk into ensured a wonderful night's sleep.
Breakfast was an absolute delight and lasted us all day!!.
Perfection!!!
We would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: we were in the Blue room which overlooked the lovely garden. This was large, with a king size bed a...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
6.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
981 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
218 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
341 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#5 of 37 in Wells
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coxley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coxley House

Address: Upper Coxley, Wells BA5 1QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £110 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coxley House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coxley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coxley House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing