We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire
Ranked #6 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Wells
Price range: US$2 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hereford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent a great day here. Friendly staff, lovely food and a great garden. The chocolate salt caramel tart was to die for and better still, guilt free since we hired bikes and burnt off the calories in the afternoon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prurup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

First visit for us and have to say it was really great. Beautiful surroundings and an excellent lunch with fabulous cakes. The day we went was busy but the service was good. We were served by a lovely American lady. The kids were kept entertained with the toys and running around the garden. A really great find. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esme M, Owner at Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you! x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south UK
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Easy to slip”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was disappointing compared to previous visits...... staff were mostly very young and so the service was less than good..... the order was incorrect and the bill was different to what was expected......food however was good as always and sitting on the lawn in the sunshine seemed to make up for the short comings of this visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trev53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esme M, Owner at Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with us. You are correct, our staff were all very young (and new) that day, as unfortunately our regular front of house staff had all taken the same day off. We were hoping for a quiet day, unfortunately that just wasn't the case.

I'm glad that the food was still up to standard. Sorry that the food order was wrong, there must have been a communication error in there somewhere between customer, server and the kitchen. If you had queried the amount you were charged, I would have come out and sorted it all out for you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely break”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Excellent place to call in on for great home cooked food.The surroundings and gardens are a joy. We spent a lovely couple of hours in the garden eating great food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esme M, Owner at Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you very much! We will hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A really special Afternoon.”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

I was treated to Afternoon tea for my Birthday. I came with 2 Friends and had a really special time. I have Coeliac disease so my dietary requirements had to be catered for which they were to the highest standard. I enjoyed a really delicious selection of sandwiches, homemade mini cakes and lovely scones with jam and clotted cream. This was all served with a pot of tea which was re-filled whenever I requested. The surroundings inside were attractive, comfortable and very relaxing. Outside was also very nice. The staff were attentive and polite and we all had a thoroughly lovely time. We will be back! :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire also viewed

 

Been to Fenny Castle Tearooms, B&B and Bike Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing