We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee”

Strangers with coffee
Ranked #1 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best coffee”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in Wells to see friends who have become locals here since moving from Melbourne. Ivan makes the best coffee we have found outside of Melbourne while travelling. Not only were we treated Ivan's great coffee but also sampled some of Susan's delicious cake. Great coffee, food and service. Thanks for the treat on a Sunday afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pommiegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Coffee and Pate”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great atmosphere, great owners, establishment run with pride, excellent coffee and as a side I would recommend the liver pate - gorgeous !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly coffee shop”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We found Strangers with Coffee by chance on the way to Glastonbury. We stopped for a late lunch and it was very tasty. Ivan was very friendly + explained the menu to us. Service was quick + Susan's food was tasty. The black coffee over ice was a great pick me up. The cafe has interesting postcards/fliers + coffee sacks + knick knacks but isn't too cluttered.
We popped in for coffee + cake the next morning + Ivan remembered us asking us about our trip to neighbouring Glastonbury. The lime + coconut cake was fresh out of the oven :o) It's not the cheapest place in the world but for fresh, tasty coffee + food it is worth it + better value than the big chains who won't take the time to get to know or remember their customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEWMK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good coffee”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are regular visitors, great coffee, wonderful roast beef sandwiches and sensational cakes! The owners are always very friendly and attentive, look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Friendly Proprietor”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stopped here while it was raining and sat down to have a coffee. The owner and his wife were so friendly and helpful. They gave us lots of tips on where to go, both in Wells and London(our next stop). Coffee was some of the best we've had in the UK. Also had a lovely homemade hummingbird cake, delicious! Definitely stop here and have a chat with the owners, they are really great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Strangers with coffee also viewed

 

Been to Strangers with coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing