We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome addition to Wells”
Review of The Greek Taverna

The Greek Taverna
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Wells, Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to Wells”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wells does not have that diverse a range of restaurants so a Greek restaurant was a great idea but a Greek restaurant run by Greek chefs is even better. We went there of my birthday and really enjoyed the evening; food, wine service were all great - including a rendition of Happy Birthday in Greek - although I was assured that this was not a regular occurrence!

Of particular mention is the range of different fruit and olive liqueurs and spirits!

The price was very reasonable especially for the equality of food. I would not hesitate to recommend that people pay them a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    110
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were warmly welcomed at the Sun Inn and enjoyed lovely genuine Greek mezze and wine as a late evening nibble.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Met with friends to dine here, quite a small venue but the tables are well spaced so there is no feeling of being overcrowded. Very busy, glad we booked a table as otherwise we wouldn't have got in, which is a good sign! Read a review on here about 'London prices but not London quality', I didn't think the prices were that bad, the beer was a bit more than you pay in a pub but so what? The staff were friendly and attentive without being in your face, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was very good indeed, my wife and I both chose a main course meal from the specials board and the food was well cooked and extremely tasty. All in all an excellent way to spend a Saturday evening!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice meal, and the quiet setting much appreciated.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our food was very tasty, but mostly we appreciated the quiet. (English pubs tend to be rowdy.) The service was charming, and we would have returned to try more dishes if this had not been our last night in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“brilliant greek food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a find this restaurant was,we went on a sunday lunchtime. The food was very good would definetly recommend the squid rings and the mezze starter,my wife had stifado which was full of chunks of beef.The staff could not do enough for you and we shall be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plegg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to The Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing