We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning meal”
Review of Anton's Bistrot

Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #31 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$16 - US$41
Cuisines: Bar, British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant after an evening visit to the cathedral and had one of the most amazing meals we had in the UK. The mains were enormous and beautifully presented and exceptionally tasty. Using local produce we were thrilled with our evening meal - we really wanted dessert but had no room after the main!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Katrina, thanks for such a glowing and positive review; a joy to read.
We do appreciate your sharing your views here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    105
    46
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great meal deal”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were early enough to order the special pre-7pm deal and enjoyed two courses for £10 each. Excellent food, beautifully cooked, and great value. Quite busy with mostly local people - it was relaxed, with a nice buzz of conversation. Helpful staff. A good place, with a sensible menu and altogether getting it all right.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so pleased to receive your super review, thank you.
It's always good to hear excellent feedback and we're grateful you took the time to take to trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

After finding that a couple of other options in Wells were closed, I stopped into Anton's for dinner. Got the roast pork and a local bottled cider. I was pleasantly surprised by the meal. The pork was very well prepared. One of the juiciest pieces of pork I have had. Served hot with seeds. Very well done. This came with braised carrots and grain mustard potatoes. The carrots were warm and tasty as were the mashed potatoes, which had a light horseradish-like taste to them. Got the sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Not an expert on these but it was the better of the two I had while in England. Service was reasonable. No long waits for food, periodic check-ins. On balance, a good experience that I would repeat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoyaSaxaBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a lovely review, thank you.
Good to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciated the standard of food we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The food at this restaurant was very good. A very tasty goat's cheese starter was followed by sea bass which was delicious. The orange sorbet for desert was excellent. My guest was vegetarian and this restaurant is ideal for vegetarians. We shared the starter and desert and so only needed the two course menu, though there is a three course option. The waitresses were attentive to our needs. The restaurant is very well placed in Wells: the cathedral but a short walk away. I tried to book a table, but couldn't get through either on the phone or by internet. However, this may be because (as I was told) they were experiencing temporary IT difficulties and it in fact made no difference to the pleasure of dining there as there was a table available when we turned up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NicholasLukeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your delicious review!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, particularly as a veggie.
Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bank holiday lunch”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Whilst I accept it was a busy Bank holiday, the service was poor, tables uncleared and not once did I see anybody wipe down a table, People removing others glasses and plates, We waited 25 minutes for our meal, when I asked how long it would be, amazingly it appeared almost straight away, rather dried up , Not a good experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barjon97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a disappointment to read your review.
The events you describe are far from the norm and we can only say it was extremely busy that day but in no way offer that as an excuse.
Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anton's Bistrot also viewed

 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing