We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Frustrated”
Review of Anton's Bistrot

Anton's Bistrot
Ranked #27 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$16 - US$41
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Frustrated”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat here after looking at the menu outside, which clearly stated that two courses were available for £10 on Sundays between 6pm and 7th. As we were well within that time slot, we decided to eat here.
We found a table and took a menu to find out what dishes were covered by this offer.
Unfortunately the menu gave no details, so I went to the bar to find out.
To my astonishment, I was told that the offer wasn't available as it was a Sunday that was part of a Bank Holiday. The bar staff called over the manager as I was clearly frustrated by this. The manager suggested that there was a note outside about this limitation (I looked afterwards and there wasn't).
The manager said that the chef had a specific set of dishes for this menu and hadn't purchased the necessary ingredients. It was also suggested that suppliers being closed over the weekend meant that the offers couldn't be made. I didn't understand this as everything else on the menu was available.
The manager was not prepared to give a discount on anything else on the menu in light of the situation.
We ordered from the rest of the menu, but the attitude of the place over this unfulfilled offer spoilt the meal.
The food was OK, although the fries were over salty for my palate.
Portions were of a good size.
Disappointing overall experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Your experience with us should have been much more positive and we're truly sorry.
The offer menu is not available on bank holiday weekends and we're sorry that was unclear.
We can only apologise for your understandable frustration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    106
    47
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Braunton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Crowning Glory”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visited this restaurant for lunch on a fairly quiet Monday. There was a special menu on offer - two courses for a tenner. The food was wonderful. I had a starter of salmon and dill pate with salad and toast. The main course I chose was slow roast pork with a cider sauce which was an absolute taste sensation. This was serves with samphire, savoy and asparagus with sauté potatoes. My wife was equally enthusiastic about her main of trout followed by a bread and butter pudding. We will most certainly visit again when we next stay in Wells.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Stay with us next time!
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal and will be back.
We do an amazing breakfast too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

There is plenty of choice here with something to suit most tastes.
The early bird special menu is really good value at £10 for 2 courses. We ate from both this menu and the regular menu and thoroughly enjoyed it all.
The service was friendly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you're pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant after an evening visit to the cathedral and had one of the most amazing meals we had in the UK. The mains were enormous and beautifully presented and exceptionally tasty. Using local produce we were thrilled with our evening meal - we really wanted dessert but had no room after the main!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Katrina, thanks for such a glowing and positive review; a joy to read.
We do appreciate your sharing your views here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great meal deal”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were early enough to order the special pre-7pm deal and enjoyed two courses for £10 each. Excellent food, beautifully cooked, and great value. Quite busy with mostly local people - it was relaxed, with a nice buzz of conversation. Helpful staff. A good place, with a sensible menu and altogether getting it all right.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so pleased to receive your super review, thank you.
It's always good to hear excellent feedback and we're grateful you took the time to take to trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anton's Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Anton's Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing