We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hospitable”

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We celebrated a very enjoyable Wedding Anniversary here and the extra little touches and attentiveness of the staff made it a lovely meal. Thanks for the candles and flower petals, the card and the pleasant greetings from the staff and thanks Craig for your hospitality and the celebration drink. The meal was lovely and the real ales beautifully kept. We had such a nice time we went back the following evening and it was just as good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, and for choosing our Pub to celebrate your 38th Wedding Anniversary. We look forward to your next visit, and for the interesting tales about Beryl when it was your family home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Came in for a meal Saturday 12th, the food is still lovely, our waitress was polite and attentive, and even our waitress from our last visit came and said hello (thanks Kate).
Our meal arrived promptly and was lovely, cooked perfectly and couldn't fault it in any way! Sorry we didn't get chance to say hello to Craig but sure to when next up from Cornwall and yes Craig - I had the pork terrine! Great food, great atmosphere, great people...

1  Thank Dropdeadfred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! Sorry I missed you both on your return visit. So happy to hear that our Terrine has enticed you back!! Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Made a return visit to this pretty pub and discovered it had changed hands (better in many ways) - better menu and food, much nicer lighter decor and a nice buzzy feel. Good value too! Just outside of the Cathedral entrance and has private parking, so good for a walk around that area and lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BrunoMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed both your visits to The Fountain. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Myself and hubby visited a couple of weekends ago for lunch and I promised to write a nice review as we had such a lovely lunch here. The atmosphere was warm and cosy, with a 'down to earth' friendly feel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The food was delicious; especially the chicken salad, and the sensational mouth watering triple cooked chips and chocolate pavlova! I would definitely recommend to others and visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your 'Fountain' experience, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I popped into the Fountain Inn as was pretty much the only place that looked decent for food open in Wells on a Monday night!

A busy little spot with a good atmosphere. Complemented by the pleasant staff and prompt service. Definitely geared more towards dining than drinking. I don't think there was anyone there not having dinner.

Food however didn't quite match everything else. Chicken & mushroom soup was tasty however it was really more like a stew, densely packed with pieces of chicken and whole baby carrots. Steak was not quite medium and needed to be sent back for an extra flash in the pan and the onion rings were greasy. A friend who joined me had a veg lasagne which resembled a bowl of congealed greasy cheese. I could feel my pores closing up at the sight of it!

The dessert menu did sound really good but I was too full to sample anything.

Would probably only try again if I was in Wells on a Monday and nowhere else was open

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank burgermeester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, Owner at The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Well all I can say is- sorry our food is not to your personal taste! We sell over 60 Lasagnes in a week and it unfortunately contains three different types of cheese to give it the special flavour that 99.9% of customers rave about. We apologise for your steak not exactly as you wanted it, but my Manager did rectify it for you immediately. Please in future don't order fried or cheesy food if your pores are going to close up, we have an extensive menu to choose from. We were fully booked on Monday evening and made a special effort for you and your friend to eat at the pub- seems the saying is true...... NO good dead goes unpunished!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing