We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frindly service, good gasto pub food”

The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Frindly service, good gasto pub food”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We ate here on a whim. We had read several reviews and what we got was consistant with them. Nice selection of localy sourced products serverved by happy , helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    143
    35
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super food, lovely decor, great staff.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had lunch there yesterday and we both chose the 2 courses for £10 for the over 60s. Wonderful fish and chips with home made tartare sauce and spectacular mushy peas - which weren't mushy but very tasty and minty (home made). My partner had lovely roast beef and all the trimmings. The puds were also delicious. And for £10 each it is incredible value for money. I can't praise this establishment high enough for the food, service and ambience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were staying nearby and popped into Wells for a bite to eat. Found Fountain Inn and pleasantly surprised. The staff were warm & welcoming & the food was lovely. I had the veg lasagne which was AMAZING and my partner had the sea bass which hardly touched the sides! Somehow we still managed to fit in desert too & again was not disappointed. Will definitely be back when we visit again. Good value for money too & quality good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliBongo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food with friendly staff.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First class food served by helpful and friendly staff. The background music was the only flaw and even that was not too bad. One wonders how long it will be before restaurants realise they lose trade by playing it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the place to eat especially if you are staying close by - a short walk from Cadgwith House B&B. Great food, friendly people both behind the bar and also customers, good wine. Highly recommend this pub for a great meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Fountain Inn Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing