We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Spot - CLOSED

Old Spot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good home cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Some really lovely dishe, cooked with seasonal local ingredients, extremely enjoyable.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    73
    24
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The restaurant we compare all others to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We never cease to be amazed at the continuing variety of dishes which Ian the chef produces. Whenever we go, which is frequently, there are invariably several new dishes on the menu. How does he do it? And the new front of house manager Thierry is a real French charmer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I can't
Fund fault with this restaraunt.it mAy seem
Pricey to some but not for what you get.and that's fantastic quality and they know what they are doing.Never had a bad meal so go and try it you would be mad
Not to best meals ever had

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chewton Mendip, Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great for a special meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My wife and I have eaten here a number of times. The food is always of the highest quality and the service polite and efficient. They used to have one issue - very bright lighting - but they've sorted that out. Hard to fault it. It is quite expensive, but it manages to deliver good value.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Cant be faulted, the food was just stunning, it tasted as good as it looked.. Terrine to start, with toast and a celeriac remoulade, i asked for a little more celeriac and i happily receive a healthy portion, for main, The best fried chicken, (who would have thought, fried chicken could be sooooo yummy, i came away with the recipe:o) which came with the lightest potato cake and delicious coleslaw.. It was extremely delicious and the selection of house wines complimented the food perfectly. Very reasonable prices and we will gladly drive the 90 minute round trip to come here again.. a true gem.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizahawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Spot also viewed

Wells, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing