We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Wells”
Review of Ashford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashford House
Ranked #13 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Wells, Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Wells”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We are Japanese and stayed at this excellent B&B for six days. Ashford house is very clean, very tastefully decorated and in a great location, Jane was very welcoming and a great host.We will happily recommend this place to our Japanese friends who visit the UK.

Masako & Kiyomi

Room Tip: We had a doulble room but a twin is available if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiyomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
64
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Superb Accommodation.
Food excellent.
Location spot on for Wells, Bath, Bristol and Glastonbury.
Jayne could not have done more to help make our stay any better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

A well presented spot to stay & close enough to town to walk there at night for dinner!
We liked the modern en-suite room-even if the shower was a little tight for space! We also liked the family dogs-2 friendly labs!
Wondeful full breakfast plate too- yum yum!
Quiet for a good night's rest-just a bit hot during our stay-not usual in UK, I know!

We also used the free hi fi link!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collchrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Visiting Wells we stayed in Ashford House for 1 night. The keeper is very nice and friendly and gave nice recommandations for a look around in the little town.
The house is about a 1-2 miles way off the cathedral easy to find.
The rooms are very comfortable and it´s enough space for a short stay anyway. Breakfast with fresh fruit and eveything else you might desire is served overlooking the beautiful garden.
We liked to stay there very much.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkingcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

It was one of the best B&B I have stayed for a while. My friend and I was staying at Wells for a night and this B&B was situated 10 mins from the town center. It was a very relaxing home. Jayne was a very warmth person and we received a very good welcome.

The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a double and a single beds and the beds were lovely. They provided tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit tea and chocolate biscuits! Our room was facing a road but with some very good view. The beds were just right and we had a good night sleep. The breakfast was lovely and not oily at all. Also, they provided fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and bananas.

We found that the shower was a bit of the problem and told Jayne about it. I hope she will fix it soon. Last but not least, Jayne knows the area well and gave us a very good travel advice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank well_fine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed in the family room at Ashford House and had a terrific weekend.

We received a warm welcome from Jayne who looked after us extremely well and gave us tips on what to see and where to eat. The house is immaculate and very convenient for Wells as it’s only a 10 minute walk into the city. Wells is lovely, we were initially torn between it and Glastonbury as a base, but were very happy with our choice.

Breakfast was excellent and all in all we were very sorry to leave.

When we return to the area we will certainly stay at Ashford House again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrockettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here while visiting Wells to go to a concert - booked last minute through tourist office. Jayne was exceedingly friendly & welcoming - even offering to drive us in to city for concert. Definately recommend to others - thanks.Enjoyed lovely fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseye_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#32 of 37 in Wells
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford House

Property: Ashford House
Address: 119 Portway, Wells BA5 2BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large detached house. A warm welcome and crisp white bed linen ensure an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Within ten minute stroll of the magnificent Wells Cathedral and city centre we are an ideal base to explore the many attractions. Glastonbury Tor, Bath, Wookey Hole Caves, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat Wildlife Park and the Mendip Hills are all within 35 minutes drive. Private off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford House Hotel Wells
Ashford House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing