We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We wont be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuckers

Tuckers
Ranked #63 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Mendip Hills Somerset
Level Contributor
373 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“We wont be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Greasy soggy chips and fish, very disappointing. Staff were pleasant but I dont think Ive ever had such oil soaked fish, broke through the batter to a puddle of oil and all our various portions were the same

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“mmmmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Every year we have to go to Tuckers,who couldn't!!! Fish n chips to die for!!! Be back for more soon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carly2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Soggy chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We visit this chip shop once every month and have always had good fish and chips except for the last time. The chips were soggy and under cooked. The fish is usually good. The portions are a good size. The place is clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gillwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good fish & chips...& a pickled egg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

W decided to buy fish & chips and sit on a bench in a local church grave yard as it was such a hot evening. Lovely fresh food, pleasant service and very clean. This hit the spot much better than the rather average restaurant we visited in Wells the previous evening....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We had been to this café/chip shop on our last visit to Wells...about 18 mnths ago.It was great then and served large and tasty portions.We had the misfortune to visit this Monday...10th.It was horrid..The chips were the worst ever.....brown...dried up...lukewarm.Luckily the salad in the burger was fresh.I told the guy serving they were the most horrible chips ever.He agreed and said more or less don't come on a Monday morning as they use the chips from Saturday.! I was so dumbstruck I just paid and left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalesEnfys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuckers also viewed

Cheddar, Somerset
 
Somerton, Somerset
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Tuckers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing