We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maples

The Maples
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lichfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maples
Ranked #8 of 11 Lichfield B&B and Inns
bangor
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed at The Maples 16th -19th October 2009 and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent hospitality. The Maples is amazingly spotless and the bedroom comfortable and well equiped with everyhing necessary to hand. The Breakfasts were delicious with a plentiful choice of cereal etc and a cooked English breakfast that lasts all day! We will be back. Many thanks for the hospitality and welcome, not to mention thr numerous trays of tea and biscuits -much appreciated.

David Arkley and Stuart Ross Helen's Bay, Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

I've stayed with Jan & Nick several times over the past couple of years, & it's always been a pleasure. Clean & comfortable bedrooms & bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Great value. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danglefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We stayed at the Maples for a music festival near Catton Hall. It was really easy to find the Maples, and Jan & Nick got us a drink and biccy when we got there. The Maples was one, if not the cleanest guest houses i've ever stayed in, the rooms were excellent & very well equipped. We could choose what we wanted for breakfast and there was a nice touch of fresh fruit. Jan and Nick couldnt do enough for us.

The Maples has a brilliant garden and a lovely sun room for the guests to us - hope to stay there again - it really was value for money and a lovely experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTEATER LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Like another reviewer I also have stayed in hotels worldwide but this place is a dream; friendly hosts and a spick and span house and I gave no hesitation recommending it to anyone

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wearytraveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

I stayed at the Maples over a weekend,whilst having business in Lichfield. From the time of my arrival on a cold and foggy Friday afternoon to my departure on a cold Monday morning,my experience was WORLD CLASS! I have stayed in many large hotels all around the world,from the Hyatt in New York Grand Central to Sandals in various Caribbean locations,to quaint cottages and guest houses,THE MAPLES is as good as anything I have experienced.
The owners make you feel at home,literally,nothing is too much trouble,they are attentive and friendly,without being overtly obtrusive,anything you want,simply ask for and its politely and quickly arranged.The rooms are clean,extremely comfortable and home ly.The Guest Lounge has state of the art TV/DVD and countless channels- a cup of tea and biscuits is never far away.
Breakfast is ample,timely,hot and simply as good as you could have anywhere in the world. Lichfield Town Centre is a 10 minute walk away,and well worth a visit.
I am actively seeking contracts for work in the area knowing I can be looked after in this wonderful Guest House,by the wonderful owners and Harriet the Cat!...SUPERB!

Ian

  • Liked — The family atmosphere and attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing - I cant think of a single problem or issue
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed at the Maples from 14-18th August 2008 with my partner as we were attending a local music festival.
On arrival after a very long and tiring journey Nick made me and my partner feel very welcome with a nice pot of tea and biscuits- even though we were both grumpy and frazzled!.
The Maples is ideally situated in a quiet location( cul de sac) but is only 15mins pleasant walk to Lichfield town centre.
We booked the twin room, and although none of the rooms are en-suite(the 3 guest rooms share a large family bathroom and there is another toilet downstairs) they are all spotlessly clean, and modern with the comfiest beds we have ever slept in!
Janet and Nick really went out of their way to make us feel at home and couldnt do enough to help us, which we really appreciated.
The cooked breakfasts were lovely, and the breakfast room overlooks their fabulous garden.
We would definatlely recommend 'The Maples' if you are looking for somewhere homely, clean and welcoming that is convenient for Lichfield and the surrounding areas.
Janet and Nick are fantastic hosts and possibly the kindest people we have met on our travels over the years.
Lichfield itself is a lovely town with lots of old fashioned buildings and leafy parks.
We loved it!!!

  • Liked — The kindness of the owners
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lushluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.2 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Woodshoot B&B
Woodshoot B&B
#1 of 11 in Lichfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maples

Property: The Maples
Address: 38 Balmoral Close, Lichfield WS14 9SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing