We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spare a thought!!!”

National Memorial Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The National Memorial Arboretum is the UK's year-round centre of Remembrance. With 150 acres of beautiful woodland and gardens to explore and over 300 unique memorials to see, you're sure to be fascinated by our many memorials and the amazing stories and symbolism behind them. Entry is free. To help you make the most of your visit; guided walks, tours and trails, learning activities, exhibitions, a restaurant and a gift shop are also available.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Spare a thought!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another visit to the National Arboretum, this time for a RAF memorial,but for a change in sunshine.
It may not be classed as an attraction but it should be a must for the thoughtful amongst us, whilst it has a substantial amount of memorials and sculptures each with a garden for each one. Many are for well known incidents but many are for little known happenings in our history. A must.....the gardens are acres and acres of lush grass,trees,memorials. A well appointed restaurant serving snacks and full meals in the grounds ...... Which is free to enter just pay for the parking...or a bus ......no pressure to buy anything and of course can take your own food and drink to consume on one of 100rds of benches.... Well worth going....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Lavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,132
    333
    49
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Moving.....but certainly not free.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Though mostly smaller monuments dotted around the site, you can't help be moved at the sacrifice of so many. A large, very impressive, centre monument for those lost after the Second World War is the highlight of the arboretum. Positives, friendly staff/volunteers, pleasant walks and moving monuments. Negatives, this is by no means a free museum. Entrance is free but you pay for car parking, £3,(even disabled visitors) and if you want to do the tour train it's £5.00 per adult (my mother is disabled and we thought this would be the least tiring way of seeing the site). While I don't begrudge paying towards running costs/upkeep I would prefer costs to be highlighted more on the website (only car parking charges advertised). Restaurant, though food was tasty, was very over priced. After spending £15.00 for train tour and £25.00 for lunch (it stated all proceeds go direct to the arboretum in the restaurant) I didn't feel I could justify leaving a donation. Would recommend but be aware all these extras add up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LMargaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A very humbling and emotional experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Should be compolsory for us all to visit, living as we do because of the sacrifaces others have made. It is free so take some time out to go and pay your respects. A must is to go to the Burma Railway exhibition area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank chopknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a thought provoking experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

With 150 well laid out acres with 400+ memorials ( of which only circa 40% are "military") the land train ride is a must to get a feel for the extent/layout of a moving/remarkable place after which you can "select" where you want to go back to. A visit to the chapel for the daily minute of remembrance silence and introductory talk is also a must .Restaurant and shopping facilities are also excellent

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AP4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A place that is an uplifting living memorial.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It is perhaps best to say that it is a unique experience to visit this place and leave it for people to discover. A neighbour had said that they visited when it was first opened and again more recently. I could see why it is a place to return to as the trees are all going to be maturing for years and although we were there for four and a half hours we saw under a half of the site. The staff on reception were very helpful so we made the most of our time. The experience of the 11am silence in the chapel set the scene. The land-train was well worth the £5 fare for the long ride and commentary. Refreshments were good and there were tables for picnics and places to walk dogs by the river. While we appreciate that it is a memorial site we felt that if there could possibly be toilets at the far end it would benefit a lot of people. (The toilets in the centre were full and not very well ventilated.) You really need to buy a map or a guide book to find your way round and appreciate the memorials.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Memorial Arboretum also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to National Memorial Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing