We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fitting tribute”

National Memorial Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Memorial Arboretum is the UK's year-round centre of Remembrance. With 150 acres of beautiful woodland and gardens to explore and over 300 unique memorials to see, you're sure to be fascinated by our many memorials and the amazing stories and symbolism behind them. Entry is free. To help you make the most of your visit; guided walks, tours and trails, learning activities, exhibitions, a restaurant and a gift shop are also available.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fitting tribute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A moving place that offer so much, enjoyed by the whole family even two young children who were able to really understand from seeing the tributes more about the history of the Wars.

The grounds were very restful and clearly well loved and maintained.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mfw72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    313
    49
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to visit on Armed Forces Day and there was lots going on. It was great to see all the veterans displaying their medals. The place itself is so well maintained and is a credit to all the staff. Will definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank liderth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Inspiring tribute to those who have given their lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have seen the National Memorial Aboretum grow from a soggy site to the magnificent development it is today. Including the hugely impressive Armed Forces Memorial there are tributes to so many groups from the moving 'Shot At Dawn' to the simple Dinkirk memorial to the Burma Railway tribute. Everyone should go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very moving place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a great Father day here. My step dad loved it and so did my 9 year old son! My son is a little historian on WW1 and WW2. He got very upset but he cant wait to visit again tomorrow. There are some beautiful memorials to see.
There is a lovely restaurant and gift shop and there is a little train that takes you around the arboretum.

A lovey day out, that everyone should visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank beckyjUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long eaton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very moving experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a wonderful day we had at the National Memorial Arboretum, you really need more than one day to visit this location.We all must be very proud of this place and encourage others to pay a visit, it is essential that we remember all who gave thier lives.
With no entrance fee and car parking only three pounds for all day parking.I would have willingly payed any amount to visit this memorable location, beautifully maintained as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank catman2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Memorial Arboretum also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to National Memorial Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing