We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a Hotel and 5 star Plus”
Review of St Johns House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Johns House
Ranked #2 of 10 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wow - this is not just a hotel - you stay as friends of the owners and share in their beautiful home; with it's lovely furnishings and décor. The whole house is uniquely decorated and presented - it's like staying in a National Trust House! It is situated in the centre of the City on St John's Road. Entry to the car parking area is through the large double black gates at the left side of the house. Enter the house via the rear conservatory door and the reception/office is on the right. You will get a very warm and friendly welcome and Sarah or Elle will personally take you to you room. Mine was Simmonds overlooking Frog Lane opposite. Treble glazing prevents any traffic noise. The room is wonderfully decorated and equipped (see the photos). Then bathroom is off the bedroom. There are four different containers of lotions for use in the showers room (no bath in this room). The house was once a school and this room was once a classroom. The massive bed is so comfortable I was worried I would over sleep but an alarm clock is provided as is a television, drink making facilities, telephone, settee...everything. Breakfast is magnificent with such a great choice. The owners and staff are so friendly, they are like personal friends. Well done all of you at St John's House.

Room Tip: The house rather than The Stables but all are very good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for St Johns House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Totally amazing ..... First class service ..superb bedroom Victoria or Victorian room and a1.8 meter bath to die for ..after a week of travelling may hotels up and down the uk it feel great to go to a hotel that just does what it says on the packet 100%
We will be back it's a gem
The owners work work work along with a team of local staff and although I'm not sure their children even get roped into to help ,I can't praise this enough

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A very high quality family run hotel in a listed building in the centre of Lichfield within walking distance of many attractions.

This used to be a primary (junior) school and my brother, sister and I went to it (thus a wry smile at the review that referred to it as previously being 'an ancient school'). It is a listed building in the centre of Lichfield and, being listed, the conversion of it into a hotel has conserved many of the characteristics that we remember as school children! We went back as a trip down memory lane, but I shall try and keep the nostalgia (such a remembering where I sat to wind up the record player during music) out of this review!

This is obviously a family run hotel. You enter from the car park at the back (via the old playground) and it feels as though you are entering a family home. Reception is friendly and informal, you are escorted to your rooms, and questions answered and advice freely given.

The bedrooms are all tastefully appointed. We had three rooms, and they were very different in size, but the prices fairly reflected their size and contents. Tea, coffee and fresh milk is provided. When we found that our milk was not so fresh, not only was it immediately replaced but a pot of freshly brewed coffee was provided as well! Dinner is not provided, but there are plenty of eating places close by, though they do provide catering for formal events in a very nice room overlooking the garden. Breakfast is exceptional and should not be rushed - everything is cooked to order, of excellent quality and in whatever quantity you desire.

The location is excellent. The railway station is within walking distance, there is free car parking on the premises, and there are plenty of eating places and attractions (eg cathedral and museums) within a short walking distance. Although on a main road, which our room overlooked, we were not disturbed by traffic noise. There is a very large communal sitting area - how they keep the upholstery as clean and shiny I do not know!

The owners are to be congratulated on tastefully but effectively converting this previous school building into such a delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Very helpful owners in a beautifully refurbished hotel (was an ancient school) which is very well located for access to the town.

Particularly tall visitors would be wise to request rooms where there is no footboard to the beds.

Picky language graduates will want to know where the apostrophe has gone in the title.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

St John's house is a fantastic hotel, with great staff very friendly and caring.
The rooms are unbelievable with period features with a modern twist.
And the food ? Out of this world.
Staying there was a great way to round off our wedding day.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichUK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed one night to visit the Cathedral and it is without doubt an ideal place to stay. The place is very clean and considering its central position is very quiet as regards traffic. The only niggle is that the doors in the stable block are noisy when closed and you will be woken if anyone leaves in the early morning .Some thought should be given to dealing with this.
Breakfast was excellent and whilst there's a radio on in the breakfast room it's tuned to radio4 so no need to listen to the drivel spoken and played on nearly every other station !
I'm looking forward to returning to this excellent b & b.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for five nights as part of a family reunion. A very comfortable spacious room. Central to all activities, pubs and restaurants. No complaints-great breakfasts and hospitality. The Simmonds room has a wet shower room which I don't really get but maybe I'm old fashioned. I would definitely stay here again but probably try the stable block.

Room Tip: The Simmonds room is right on the main street. Although other guests have said that street noise did...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
9.3 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House

Address: St John Street, Lichfield WS13 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range: £95 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed stables house our 5 Star luxury bedrooms all with hand made Vi-Spring beds. Breakfast is taken across the courtyard in the dining room of historic St. Johns House. 100 metres from The Garrick theatre and little more to all of Lichfields charms. Our breakfasts are becoming legendry only equalled by our service. St. Johns House... Traditionally Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Johns House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing