We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay and Eat”
Review of St Johns House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St Johns House
Ranked #2 of 10 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the SJH over the weekend as we were attending an anniversary celebration there. We received a very warm welcome from the owner and the staff were very positive in helping us to our room in the main building which was once a private prep school. Our room was at the rear of the hotel overlooking the attractive garden and was very comfortable with a kingsize bed and two large windows which let in lots of light. We would have preferred to have had a room with a shower cubicle rather than a bath with a hand held shower hose, but that was quite adequate.
The drawing room was a delight with a high ceiling and comfortable furniture.
The food for the evening celebration was exquisite as were the table decorations, and our breakfast offering was quite fantastic and the main course cooked to perfection. The serving staff were well managed and worked efficiently.
The garden and spacious car park at the back of the hotel was very peaceful and offered a covered area should there be rain or too much sun (???).
All in all, a true gem and one I would recommend to anyone and a visit to the Lichfield Cathedral was an added joyful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a conventional shower if you want that as we did, and at the rear of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Terrific welcome, great food, ideal location. Owner was very friendly and helpful: i couldn't fault it in any way. It's not cheap, but for one night it was well worth the money, I'd go back to Lichfield, and when i do, this is where I'd stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zakmay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you want a great venue for a wedding, then this is The place to do it. Some of the family stayed from Friday to the Sunday. From the moment we checked in to our weekend" takeover " nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are superb, equipped with everything you need, even slippers and dressing gowns. Also a must for weddings, irons and ironing boards. Our bed was extremely comfortable . The breakfasts were great, everything you could wish for. We had a tapas style meal for the wedding. Well if I say it was tremendous, I would be doing it an injustice . So many dishes, and each one delicious. The staff serving were great. They couldn't do enough for us. No glass stayed empty for long!
So thank you Dan and Ellie for the magnificent wedding our Daughter and our new Son in Law had. All the guests had a fabulous time as well. So many memories! Special mention must go to Sarah, the manager, who looked after us so well, and to Sandra who gave us all breakfasts to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at St Johns House over a weekend when we were attending a wedding in Lichfield. We received a very warm welcome from Dan, the owner and his family. There was plenty of space to park inside the grounds and we were shown into our room in a stable block. It was beautifully decorated and furnished and had windows opening onto a terrace with table and chairs and a sun lounger. The terrace over-looked the garden. The breakfasts were super. We had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon with delicious granary toast, creamy yoghurt and gooseberry compote.
We entertained our family and another family pre wedding on our little terrace and ordered some bubbles and nibbles, expecting a bowl of nuts and crisps, but no, what Dan had prepared was fillet of beef with horseradish on cocktail sticks, smoked salmon and cream cheese on blinis, a lovely fresh homemade salsa with biscuits to dip in, and a bowl of olives, it was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely stay there again. It is luxury

Room Tip: The Stable block has outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janey-El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a lovely and lovingly restored Grade 2* listed house. It is ideally situated for a visit to Lichfield being within a few minutes walk of the station and close to the shops, cathedral and theatre. There is parking for those who need it.

The rooms are individually decorated and filled with an eclectic mix of furnishings. It looks as though real love and care have gone into furnishing the house Our bed was spacious and comfortable. The rooms have a small fridge and fresh milk is supplied. There are wine glasses but no water glasses. There are dressing gowns and slippers in the rooms. Our room was exceptionally spacious and had a sofa as well as upright chairs.

Our bathroom was a very modern wet room with an efficient shower. There are large pump dispensed bottles of soap, shampoo etc from a small supplier.

Overall the room was pretty clean. The furniture is old and heavy so it's not surprising that there is a bit of dust underneath. There was WiFi in the room which was mostly fine.

On the ground floor there is a large and comfortable sitting room which was available some of the time we were there (it does get booked for meetings and events). There is a small bar and we saw people using this in the early evening - I'm not clear if this is only for booked groups or for all visitors. I'm also not clear whether this opens every evening.

The quality of the breakfast was very good. The selection of stewed and fresh fruit available was unusually fine. Breakfast service wasn't brilliant. On the first day despite the waitress rechecking with us 3 times neither of us got what we ordered. On the second day after waiting for 15 mins we had to go to the kitchen to find someone. This wasn't a real issue but if, as I suspect the owners are aspiring to be perfect, it could be improved. Everyone we met was pleasant and friendly and the atmosphere at St John's house is relaxed.

The main drawback for us with our room -Peacock - was the noise from the traffic. St John's house is right on a busy road. As the weather was warm we needed the windows open and noise did affect our sleep. We had originally booked a different specific room at the back but on arrival found we had been moved. If you need fresh air and a quiet night it's worth talking to the owners to get advice about the best room for you and a firm commitment that you will get it.

Despite all that was on offer I do feel that St John's House is a bit overpriced for a provincial B&B at £115 per night. Nonetheless I doubt there is a better place to stay if visiting Lichfield and we would certainly return.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HazelRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wow - this is not just a hotel - you stay as friends of the owners and share in their beautiful home; with it's lovely furnishings and décor. The whole house is uniquely decorated and presented - it's like staying in a National Trust House! It is situated in the centre of the City on St John's Road. Entry to the car parking area is through the large double black gates at the left side of the house. Enter the house via the rear conservatory door and the reception/office is on the right. You will get a very warm and friendly welcome and Sarah or Elle will personally take you to you room. Mine was Simmonds overlooking Frog Lane opposite. Treble glazing prevents any traffic noise. The room is wonderfully decorated and equipped (see the photos). Then bathroom is off the bedroom. There are four different containers of lotions for use in the showers room (no bath in this room). The house was once a school and this room was once a classroom. The massive bed is so comfortable I was worried I would over sleep but an alarm clock is provided as is a television, drink making facilities, telephone, settee...everything. Breakfast is magnificent with such a great choice. The owners and staff are so friendly, they are like personal friends. Well done all of you at St John's House.

Room Tip: The house rather than The Stables but all are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dormouse39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Totally amazing ..... First class service ..superb bedroom Victoria or Victorian room and a1.8 meter bath to die for ..after a week of travelling may hotels up and down the uk it feel great to go to a hotel that just does what it says on the packet 100%
We will be back it's a gem
The owners work work work along with a team of local staff and although I'm not sure their children even get roped into to help ,I can't praise this enough

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
405 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
2.3 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
363 reviews
6.1 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Johns House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Johns House

Address: St John Street, Lichfield WS13 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grade II* listed stables house our 5 Star luxury bedrooms all with hand made Vi-Spring beds. Breakfast is taken across the courtyard in the dining room of historic St. Johns House. 100 metres from The Garrick theatre and little more to all of Lichfields charms. Our breakfasts are becoming legendry only equalled by our service. St. Johns House... Traditionally Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Johns House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing