We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Again.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1709 the Brasserie

1709 the Brasserie
Ranked #12 of 153 Restaurants in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing Again.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We firstly visited this restaurant when it was Pastiche many years ago. We then had a break for a number of years and returned in 2012 when it was 1709. On this occasion we ate at 9 pm and it was a case of hurry up as you are the last to be served.
We decided to give it another go last weekend as the reviews were positive. Unfortunately, we had the same experience. The food was generally ok however the service let it down. Over the course of 1 hour we had three different waiter/waitresses and were never asked at any point if the meal was ok and did we need anything (ie drinks and condiments etc)
The final straw was as we were eating our dessert they were not only cleaning up but spraying cleaning fluid right next to us.
To top this off when we came to pay our bill we were made to wait whilst staff chatted and the bill was incorrect when it arrived.

We will not be rushing back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BosraSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    161
    71
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If I could, I'd tip them all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

1709 was a joyful find. For one, the staff worked as a team. Nothing was too much trouble.

The food was excellent, well-presented, fresh and hot. The thought and care that went into every course was evident.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheppied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small Portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I like it here and I eat here a few times a year with friends and I can't see this changing. I don't enjoy massive portions of food so this should be the perfect place for me, but I always end up hungry after 2 courses. I think the restaurant makes its money on the alcohol, no problem with that but I think they've lost sight of whether the customer is getting enough food. I would like to see the balance change a little bit. As I say I'm a light eater and shouldn't be hungry after 2 courses. However the staff are always really good, friendly and courteous regardless of how busy they are. I like it here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serialwhinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alrewas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap Chic Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

A very comprehensive menu of healthy interesting food at an amazing price
Good enthusiastic service and always crowded but that surely is the measure of success
Children and babies welcomed as is everyone

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 19451985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, a little squashed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent food, if you don't mind bumping elbows, service was good despite being busy a testament to the excellent food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed140172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1709 the Brasserie also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to 1709 the Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing