We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and very poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“noisy and very poor breakfast”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Not expecting a huge amount as the room was purchased at an extremely good rate (45). The room was a good size and clean, however the bed very uncomfortable (i believe the mattress could do with being replaced) and the room was very warm (there was no aircon).
It is very very noisy in the morning - the walls are obviously very thin - we were beneath a family and we could hear their conversation easily and their children walking about. Doors being slammed at 7am woke us both up. Breakfast was awful, with the 'hot' offering being very very poor quality and the continental equally bad - especially the 'croissants' which were so hard they would break windows. Tables were dirty and there seemed to be very few staff members on hand to sort the cleaning / replacement of breakfast - we ended up having toast and tea in the mcdonalds next door.
I do stay reasonably regularly in holiday inns with business - this was one a real let down. I am glad we didnt have to pay the full price of a room

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and has also been passed on to the relevant departments for ways to improve the service that we offer.

Should your travels bring you back to Lichfield I hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    187
    97
    27
    17
See reviews for
137
144
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The fire alarm went off at 4 in the morning. Not even so much as an apology from the hotel.
Breakfast was very poor. Luke warm food that had been there all morning with not much choice for vegetarians.
Late night bar snacks were very poor and grossly overpriced. Toasted cheese and ham sandwich £6.50.
The bar was poorly stocked. Didn't even have a bottle of still water to sell. Had to make do with tap water and ice.
Outside of the hotel, the surrounding area smelt of rotting rubbish.
Certainly would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeJayCabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield I am sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Unfortunately the fire alarm did sound during the early morning of your stay, I apologise that an apology was not given to you when you checked out.

The bar offers a variety of soft drinks, beers, spirits and cider and has ample stock. However due to the hotel being busier than anticipated that week, there were some items that had run out and our delivery arrives every Thursday. Please accept my apologies for this inconvenience.

With regards to the comment about smells outside of the hotel, this is outside of our control, as we are in a location with fields around us, farmers can use not so nice smelling products. However these can not be smelt whilst in the hotel.

I am sincerely disappointed that you would not stay at the hotel again however I do hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, then you would give us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After reading the review on this Hotel we decided to stop here .The rooms are ok and the disabled room was excellent But when are they going to sort out the Breakfast and stop saying SORRY for the food and service that meet you when you come for breakfast like 20 minutes for the hot food to be replaced which is cooked by the staff This spoilt the night overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin612016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

Thank you for scoring the hotel so high on rooms, cleanliness and sleep quality, it's a pleasure to see that these elements met your requirements.

Getting breakfast right is of vital importance to myself and my team and as mentioned in other reviews we value your feedback. We are currently reviewing the offering with our suppliers to ensure that all breakfast products meet our guest expectations.

I hope that should your travels bring you back to the area again that you will return to the hotel.

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

What a shame-stayed over for a local wedding. Great first impression-compare to Travel Lodge, entrance looked food and a lovely welcome. Shame bathroom was in need of a deep clean, bed was hard,child's bed wasn't flat and breakfast was the worst I've ever had in any hotel category. Don't call it complementary-it's included in the price. The food sourced must be so cheap and looks it. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

It's great to hear that you felt the hotel to be welcoming on your arrival, however I am sorry that other elements of your stay were not so great. Feedback of any kind is so important and I can assure you that your feedback will be discussed with the team. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your complimentary breakfast, again I can assure you that this feedback will be passed on to our suppliers.

Once again thank you for your feedback, I hope that you come and stay with us or another Holiday Inn Express hotel again in the future to allow us to restore your faith in us.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express , we have normally stayed in Premier lodges and we won't be rushing back. Check in fine with pleasant staff , room looked fine at first sight . Bed very hard , minimal t bags left 2 !! Shower effective , cheap loo paper. Good sound proofing but room hot and could not drop temperature . Breakfast a battle , people were waiting ten minutes for tasteless sausages and scrambled eggs !!!! Only two fruit selections for on cereals , pears and grapefruit. Toast kept running out. Definitely understaffed as they were working as hard as they could. Queues of complaining customers at reception saying rooms had not been cleaned etc. a suggestion would be to knock £5 off price , not include a breakfast as there is a McDonalds next door offering a substantial tasty breakfast for £5

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petawendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield. Your feedback is of great value to us.

I am sorry to read that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be fed back to the team and we shall certainly be looking at our standards and ways to improve our offering.

If for any reason during your stay you are not happy, please do not hesitate to speak to one of the team on the front desk who will be more than happy to assist you with for example, extra tea bags, or a move to a bedroom which better suits your needs.

I hope that should your travels bring you back to Lichfield, that you will return to the hotel to allow us to restore your faith in the brand.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having spent a lot of nights in this hotel over past couple of years I was amazed by some of the negative reviews. I've always found the rooms to be spotless. The staff are excellent and will always try to help with any request. The hotel sells food in evening and there is also a McDonalds, Frankie and Benny's and Virgin Gym (with restuarant) adjacent to hotel. Lichfield City Centre is 5 mins away by car or taxi where there are also some good restaurants and pubs. The beds are comfortable and the hotel is generally quiet in evening so ideal for good night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vadougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyal business at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield. We are delighted that you choose to return to us when you stay in Lichfield.

You have highlighted many of the qualities we pride ourselves on at the hotel such as location, cleanliness and most importantly, the team at the hotel.

We hope that you continue to stay with us for many more years to come!

Kindest Regards

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel itself was an average Holiday Inn Express, clean and good value for money. But the breakfast was awful; by penny pinching and using the cheapest items available it spoilt an otherwise acceptable stay. I had no worries about the sausages containing horsemeat as there was no texture to them, and the presence of horsemeat would have been a definite improvement! The baked beans were something that the cheapest supermarket own brand would have been ashamed of. Whoever sources the food needs to have a rethink!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your complimentary Express Start Breakfast with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us and I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the appropriate parties.

Thank you for your comments relating to the cleanliness and that we provide good value for money.

I hope that should you be in Lichfield again, that you will choose to come and stay with us.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing