We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel was convenient for us, it is just off the M6 toll, in a complex with a Frankie & Benny's and a McDonalds. It is about a 10 minute car journey into Lichfield itself.

Bad points: The beds are very uncomfortable, hard & wobbly - they feel a bit like camp beds. The baby cot was very old and also wobbly - our daughter is normally fine in hotel cots .. but not this one! The rooms are hot, the window does open but to the sound of the M6. Breakfast is basic - they advertise fresh fruit, but only tired looking apples & bananas were available.

Good points: The room was clean & housekeeping were very good. The shower was good & powerful. Reception staff were perfectly polite.

It is all you would expect from a Holiday Inn. They should really improve the standard of their beds though if they want to compete with Premier Inn and Travelodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuesmay_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Tuesmay_29

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following on from your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express in Lichfield.

I have to say that feedback regarding the comfort of beds is generally positive but clearly in this case we didn't meet with your expectations.

As part of our ongoing commitment to customer satisfaction we take action as a result of all guest feedback. I have asked for the property maintenance manager to check all beds and were appropriate we will ensure faulty beds are replaced.

We are currently working on improving our breakfast offering and I am confident that you will see the results of this in the near future.

Overall I am pleased that you found that the team at the hotel were polite and friendly and that your room was clean and well presented.

I hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    181
    96
    26
    17
See reviews for
132
140
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed in a Holiday Inn Express , we have normally stayed in Premier lodges and we won't be rushing back. Check in fine with pleasant staff , room looked fine at first sight . Bed very hard , minimal t bags left 2 !! Shower effective , cheap loo paper. Good sound proofing but room hot and could not drop temperature . Breakfast a battle , people were waiting ten minutes for tasteless sausages and scrambled eggs !!!! Only two fruit selections for on cereals , pears and grapefruit. Toast kept running out. Definitely understaffed as they were working as hard as they could. Queues of complaining customers at reception saying rooms had not been cleaned etc. a suggestion would be to knock £5 off price , not include a breakfast as there is a McDonalds next door offering a substantial tasty breakfast for £5

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petawendy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear petawendy54

I am sorry to learn that you left after your stay feeling dissatisfied .

I am pleased that there were many aspects of your stay that were positive including the polite hotel team.

As a result of customer feedback regarding the breafaast we have been purchasing additional cutlery and crockery, we have reorganised the breakfast display and have purchased additional equipment to improve the presentation, flow and customer breakfast experience and I am confident that you would see the effect of this on your next visit.

I hope that you do choose to stay with us again in the future.

Assuring you of our best intentions.

Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the 3rd year we have used this motel and it is clean and tidy as it was when we went the first time. So far it is not showing signs of heavy usage and age.

Rooms and bathroom were clean. Bed firm but not hard as a board.

Breakfast - help yourself. Limited choice of fresh fruit and cooked items, but all the basics are there.

Booked in advance - £47 for two people/night at weekend Good value in this day and age.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor rooms to get more privacy and less noise from cars being parked and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkingFolkDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear customer.

Thank you for leaving such a positive 5 star review of your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express in Lichfield.

I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay and thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel in Lichfield. We understand how valuable your custom is.

Thank you for sharing a travelers tip. We would always encourage our customers to advise if they have any preferences or special requests and we will do all we can to honor them.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

stayed a couple of times here last week as in the area on business.the rooms i had were always clean and quite comfortable and very quiet.check in staff polite and friendly,bar was quiet and the beer rather overpriced as in any hotel.there are a lot of previous reviews saying how bad the breakfast is,it's not that good,but no worse than in any other holiday inn express,not a fault of this hotel.
all in all for a budget hotel it's NOT THAT BAD.
would use again for business,but probably not for leisure.

Room Tip: had room 117 on second stay,floodlight on building was shining on my window all night.try to avoid i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timandkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear timandkathy,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. It is great that you had a smooth check in and you found our staff to be polite. I regret that you were a bit inconvenienced with the breakfast served. We take all feedback seriously and yours will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I had a great time at the holiday inn with all my friends who were there for the visit to alrewas memorial last year the disabled room was just right for me a little bit small for my big electric wheelchair but hey not everybody has one thats just right for the occasion, the food was ok I heard no complaints to the staff when I was at breakfast, and the staff well they were bloody great no problem at all with any requests and they coped very well with the Airborne Forces visit that weekend, and also come this weekend June 21st they will be bombarded again with the Parachute Regiment lads and wife's when we will be at the memorial at alrewas which is to be an Annual event from now on.

Room Tip: when Booking ask the staff to help you choose the room that you require for Your peace of mind if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Hopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Robbie,

Thank you for leaving a 5 star review.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

We discuss customer feedback on a daily basis and I can assure you that your comments have been shared with the hotel team.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteson, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I stayed at this property in May 2013. To say the least, I was very disappointed in the room, service and breakfast. First of all the room was very small for the cost. Being from the US, I expected the room to be a little smaller than I am use to, however, I did expect the quality service associated with the Holiday Inn brand. The room was tolerable because without a doubt, it was very clean. Since there were three of us in the room (and we paid dearly for the third person), the couch bed was let out. This absorbed a great deal of the space in the room. The room was far too small for three people to find any degree of comfort. The mattresses were very thin...the thinnest I have experienced in any Holiday Inn Express.

Since we were in the UK to visit friends and to site see, we did not want to focus endlessly on the short comings in the room. We decided to be in the room as little as possible. We did look forward to breakfast only to be disappointed with that as well. The sausages were over cooked, the eggs dry and the bread often burned every morning. One morning there was no difference between water and the apple juice. That was corrected so my breakfast consisted of juice each morning...nothing else. The coffee is horrible and you will do better to use the freezed dry coffee provided in the room. It is much better. There is a selection of three or four cold cereals, yogurt, bananas, apples and canned pears and grapefruit. If you must eat, go for the cold breakfast and forget what they call an "English breakfast"

Unlike some other reviewers, I found the service to be poor. There was one really pleasant staff person at the front desk each evening. She was the most friendly contact in the hotel that we had.

I will be returning to the UK, but I will select another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MainIngredient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I apologise that you found the size of the room too small for your requirements, from experience, the size of these rooms are consistent with other Holiday Inn Express properties in the UK.

Your feedback regarding breakfast has been taken on board and we are looking at other options for food available via our suppliers.

I am disappointed that you found the service to be poor and can assure you that this will be looked into.

Kindest Regard

Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexbot
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here as we were attending a wedding in Alrewas which is very near, and this was the cheapest hotel. We have stayed in many holiday Inn Express's before but this one was one of the worst.
The room was shabby, had to ask for soap and shower gel as it had run out, rips in the sheets and a horrid brown stain on the sofa.
The breakfast was cold, a sausage, scrambled egg and beans - a full English does not make.
The staff were the saving grace, they were polite, kind and really friendly. They couldn't be more helpful.
A disappointing stay but felt very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlaBarratt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am delighted that you found my team at the hotel to be polite, kind and friendly as this is the service that we aim to offer at all times. I shall certainly pass this feedback on to them for you.

I am sorry that there were elements of you room that were not to the standard expected, I shall certainly be speaking with the Head Housekeeper regarding these issues as they are not the standards we pride ourselves on.

With regards to breakfast we offer a complimentary Continental Breakfast with Hot Favourites, and these include Sausages, Scrambled Eggs and Baked Beans. We do not offer a full English Breakfast.

Your feedback is of great value and we will ensure that the negative aspects are dealt with.

Kindest Regards


Carla Barratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing