We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't normally do budget hotel - but this was spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights as we were seeing family. Good welcome and hotel had put us in a quite part of hotel - as requested.
Room was smaller than expected but ok for needs - bathroom clean, shame no bath for our little girl but we managed.
Breakfast was basic and I would rate it poor. But staff were pleasant.
Shame one family felt it was acceptable to let their teen girls come to breakfast in their pjs - it's a hotel!!!! Maybe that's why we don't do budget hotels!
That said - handy for easy eating places. Bargain stay - and we weren't unhappy with anything - and I'm difficult to please!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Cortabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Cortabroad

Thank you for leaving a review following your stay at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and will ensure your comments are shared with the team.

Whilst we are a budget hotel we take great pride in offering customers everything they need for a good nights sleep and a free express start breakfast and trust that we would see you again on your next visit to Lichfield.

You may wish to consider joining IHG Rewards club if you are a regular hotel user as you will be rewarded for your stays within our brand of hotels.

Thanks again.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

ok... no freeview tv, basic channels, wifi is slow and you have to keep reconnecting. TV is tiny, beds aren't comfortable.

Food menu is bare, very very poor range on offer. Just had food (lasagne) and in all honesty I've never had such a small portion, I'll be in McDonald's in half an hour!! and at £10 for the meal?! you must be joking! I wouldn't pay £3 for what I had in a Tesco value isle. This isn't a one off either, I've been at a business meeting here and the...'food'... was awful then too.

Only saving grace is... the room is tidy and shower looks nice and spacious but I'll probably starve to death before I manage to have one in the morning.


Avoid. Stay somewhere else unless you don't like tv, food or comfortable beds.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Swansea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Swansea99

I am genuinely sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable stay on your last visit to Lichfield.

Having reviewed your comments they don't sit in line with the vast majority of the feedback we receive at the hotel. However I am pleased to advise that by the middle of the year we are expecting to have replaced all of the beds in the hotel and have plans to replace the TV's and upgrade the channel offering in the future.

I am sorry that the food wasn't to your liking. The team at the hotel would be more than happy to recommend alternatives in the area should you decide to stay with us in the future.

I have noted your comments regarding WiFi and would recommend that you always contact a member of the hotel team who may be able to troubleshoot any connectivity problems. Connections will drop after a period of inactivity to prevent the network from slowing down for other users. In general we have a very good service in the hotel from our provider.

I hope my response serves to demonstrate our commitment to delivering great service and hope that you will give us a try again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

By far the best hotel experience i have had in a long time! The staff were amazing and personally i do not see why there are so many negative comments about breakfast when it is more than what you would expect and hope for from a hotel which isnt full service and free. Amazing experience! Would definately recommend and will without a doubt return to this hotel in the future! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovelichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Ilovelichfield.

Thanks for leaving such a great review. We take great pride in delivering a good service to our customers and look forward to your next visit to Lichfield.

You might want to consider booking one of our Drayton Manor Packages for your next visit.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our base for one night on a coach trip to the area.
Rooms very good, breakfast OK.
The hotel is handily placed for the motorway system, which explains its popularity. The location is less suitable for exploring Lichfield itself.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricAshley47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear EricAshley47

Thanks for your recent review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay and agree that we offer a great location for access to Midlands attractions.

We hope to see you for your next visit to Lichfield and thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed Valentine's weekend. Lovely service and nice clean hotel.

Basic hotel but nice room, bedding, towels etc.

Wonderful service and nothing an issue.

Free wifi!

Highly recommended.

Would definitely stay again if going to Lichfield.

Thank you very much!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Victoria.

Thank you for leaving a five star review.

I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed one night here and it was perfect. The greeting was friendly and efficient and our room was pleasant and clean. The bathroom was very well designed and spotlessly clean and the shower was very good, powerful and lots of hot water ! Lovely !
There was lots to choose for breakfast which was delicious.
The staff were all very good and very helpful in organising a taxi for us.
I really recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Carol.

I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We discuss customer feedback on a daily basis and I can assure you that your comments will be shared with the team at the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lichfield and thank you for your custom.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

For the £69 we paid for one Saturday night, you get what you pay for. Check in was quick and easy, room itself was adequate and clean, checkout simple and the breakfast OK. Gripes I would say are that there was a smell of dog walking through the corridors, we read somewhere that pets were welcome, so this probably explained the smell! The walls were very thin, so you could hear everything next door. Apart from that it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear mousy105,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
403 reviews
2.9 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
5.8 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,726 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#6 of 11 in Tamworth
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £35 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Guests can enjoy free WiFi, free parking and breakfast is included. Rooms have en suite shower rooms, a flat screen TV and a modern design (renovated 2016). The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the West Midlands within easy reach of the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38. The National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham Airport are within 30 minutes by car. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing