We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, efficient service, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean room, efficient service, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here in May 2014 as a halfway point between Birmingham airport and Alton Towers. We booked two rooms for a party of four.
We arrived at around 1am and were greeted by two very friendly and helpful desk staff who processed our checkin very efficiently. The rooms were both very clean and furniture and fittings were in good condition.
There was a note saying that there were road works outside, in operation during nighttime hours, and that there might be some noise, but I heard nothing; the bed was comfortable and I slept like the dead.
Breakfast the following morning was the usual self-service affair that HI Express hotels offer, but this one had scrambled eggs, sausages and beans on offer, in addition to the usual pastries, cereals and fruit. Breakfast area was clean and tidy and self-service suited us perfectly because were on a schedule and we wanted to just eat and run. Very good!
There was a McDonalds and a Frankie and Bennys just outside the hotel if you needed other dining options but we were only here for a quick place to sleep so didn't do any other exploring.

Overall, very friendly and helpful staff at checkin and checkout, clean rooms, good showers, great breakfast. Many thanks, HI Express Lichfield!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavanamuktasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Pavanamuktasana.

Thanks for leaving such a positive and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us.

I know that the team in the hotel will be pleased to learn that you had an an enjoyable stay, particularly the nights reception team will be grateful for your comments regarding check in.

We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable accommodation and a memorable experience for our customers and it is nice to learn that our efforts have proved successful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    187
    97
    27
    17
See reviews for
137
144
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We found the hotel easily and parking was excellent. The hotel is situated alongside a McDonalds and. Frankie and Bennys so there is a choice for eating if you don't want to venture too far from the hotel. There was a note left saying there is building work going on by the hotel on the roads but we didn't hear any noise from the work.
Our room was roomy enough for 3 adults and although the sofa bed was not as comfortable as the main bed it meant saving on the cost of a second room when just staying for 1 night.
The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate but I did find the scrambled egg quite salty.
The hotel is well situated in the central area of England and is well positioned for business or leisure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanR1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Joan

Thanks for leaving your review.

I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and agree that we offer a great location with easy access to the Midlands road network and associated attractions and localities.

We pride ourselves on offering customers good value and it is always pleasing to learn that customers are happy with our efforts.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My mother and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Lichfield for one night. The staff on the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and kind. We wanted some milk to make another cup of tea so they filled a cup of several pots for us. They asked if we needed extra tea bags or anything else. They were also more than helpful when I asked if we could have a safety pin and gave me a cute little sewing kit to keep. The rooms were clean and spacious and there was free wifi. All in all a really nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Catherine,

I am really pleased that we have managed to exceed your expectations and that you felt your stay was worthy of a five star review.

We discuss customer feedback on a daily basis and I can assure you that the team will be happy to learn of your positive experience.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lichfield.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This being the first time we have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn, we were looking forward to the experience. At check-in we only spent a few minutes at the desk before we got our keys. The room was very pleasant, with all the stuff you normally associate with a decent hotel room. Good shower! They adopted the (Premier Inn) gimmick of two types of pillow, but overall the sleeping experience was top-notch. We needed a few incidental extras from reception, but again this was no problem at all. You also get a free breakfast, which is good because the alternative is McDonald's or Frankie & Benny's!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Neil.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Lichfield.

I am glad that your first experience with Holiday Inn Express was a positive one and that you found everything to your liking and stress free.

For your future visits you may wish to consider joining our hotel loyalty program that rewards you for staying within our family of brands, these points can be used towards free stays in the future.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After a quick decision to take the family ( 2A + 2c) to Drayton manor park for the bank holiday weekend we decided on Holiday inn express Lichfield, we arrived late on Saturday to be greeted by competent friendly staff and generally first impressions were good. The hotel is 15 minutes from Drayton manor park and situated a few minutes outside of (lovely Lichfield) on a small retail park with Virgin health/ MacDonalds and a Frankies and Bennies restaurant (would recommend - yum).
Hotel has a small bar and serves a good continental breakfast with sausages and scrambled eggs- unfortunately no bacon. Rooms are well equipped even though a little dated. A new shower curtain that is weighted (blows in when showering) would be fantastic as would a yellow tea service/ kettle need replacing and updating. Also the doors close quite loudly which may disturb other residents. Beds are a little on the soft side for me, however my misses loved em as did the kids in another room so really a personal comment. I felt the room price was little more than would be expected for a budget hotel but for a BH weekend acceptable. Downsides would be that it appeared to be understaffed at times, a less than adequate smoker area with full ashtrays and more attention could be applied to communal tables and floors. Would I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: A good quiet budget hotel with good local amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Steven,

Thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. I hope you had a great trip to Drayton Manor.

I am pleased that taking all things into account you had a good stay and that you would choose to stay with us again. We always strive to ensure that we are adequately resourced according to the number of guests we expect to have in the hotel. I am sorry if at any time during your stay we failed to deliver a good service to you.

We are working on our plans for refurbishment at the hotel which is due to commence in the near future.

We look forward to seeing you on our next visit and thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at this Hotel for one night while visiting the area for a family birthday party. Got a room for £53 advance booking rate which included free breakfast. Hotel room was clean with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. Staff were friendly on arrival and offered the 24 hour free wi-fi. Our party of 9 adults occupied four rooms one on the ground floor, one on the second floor and three on the third floor. Unfortunately we ended up deprived of sleep having been woken by children running along the corridors on level three. The disturbance started before 6am and continued for some time with doors banging loudly. Breakfast was nothing more than a free for all with children running in and out of the dining area. Tables were left uncleared and the "complientary breakfast" was less than adequate. By Sunday morning the staff were less than friendly due to the fact that the dining area was understaffed. They were too harrassed to be friendly having to deal with children taking drinks out of the cooler, checking guests out and attempting to clear tables and restock the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnie22113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear bonnie22113,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found the room clean and comfortable. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with us. Please remain assured that your comments regarding the noise and the breakfast have been documented and forwarded to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Got a room for £59 which included breakfast. Room was clean and a fair size. Bed was very comfortable. Nice shower. All staff were very friendly (i think we were given x 3 activity packs for our 3 year old daughter during the 2 days we stayed). The only let down was the breakfast which wasn't very nice when compared with ones I have had at other holiday inns and premier inns. It is strange that they don't serve bacon which should surely be considered a staple of any cooked breakfast in the UK. Instead the only cooked items on offer were very poor quality sausages and watery scrambled eggs and baked beans. However they do have cereals and yoghurts available if you don't fancy the cooked option. Despite all this, the substandard breakfast was the only low point in an otherwise enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakethemuss2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jake.

I am glad to learn that you had a good stay with us recently and it is particularly pleasing that the team in the hotel helped to make the experience a positive one by delivering good service to you and your family.

As you have pointed out unfortunatly we do not serve bacon as part of our free breakfast offering but we do offer a substantial selection of items. We have made imporvements to our breakfast offering including improving the quality of the bread, croissants and cereals and continue to extend the range of products.

We take customer feedback very seriously and can assure you that your comments will be noted.

For your next visit you may wish to take a trip to Drayton Manor Theme Park which is located a short drive from the hotel.

Kind Regards

Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure guest. All guestrooms offer WiFi Internet Access, Free Express Breakfast, power showers and tea and coffee making facilities. Children under 18 stay free when sharing parents room. Hotel offers a residents bar which shows the latest sports on Sky TV. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the midlands high speed road connections to the whole of the UK via the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38 with the National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham City Centre being only 20 minutes away. Airports are easy to access with Birmingham International Airport only 20 minutes away and Nottingham East Midlands Airport 40 minutes drive away. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing