We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Cathedral Hotel(Lichfield)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Gungate(Tamworth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
172
208
101
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
208
101
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscrambled eggsfrankie and bennysbeansroom was cleandrayton manorretail parktoll roadthe sofa bedcroissantsfree wifibreakfast was includedtheme parkcosta coffeereception staffwhat it says on the tinhot breakfaststayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here in May 2014 as a halfway point between Birmingham airport and Alton Towers. We booked two rooms for a party of four.
We arrived at around 1am and were greeted by two very friendly and helpful desk staff who processed our checkin very efficiently. The rooms were both very clean and furniture and fittings were in good condition.
There was a note saying that there were road works outside, in operation during nighttime hours, and that there might be some noise, but I heard nothing; the bed was comfortable and I slept like the dead.
Breakfast the following morning was the usual self-service affair that HI Express hotels offer, but this one had scrambled eggs, sausages and beans on offer, in addition to the usual pastries, cereals and fruit. Breakfast area was clean and tidy and self-service suited us perfectly because were on a schedule and we wanted to just eat and run. Very good!
There was a McDonalds and a Frankie and Bennys just outside the hotel if you needed other dining options but we were only here for a quick place to sleep so didn't do any other exploring.

Overall, very friendly and helpful staff at checkin and checkout, clean rooms, good showers, great breakfast. Many thanks, HI Express Lichfield!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavanamuktasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Pavanamuktasana.

Thanks for leaving such a positive and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us.

I know that the team in the hotel will be pleased to learn that you had an an enjoyable stay, particularly the nights reception team will be grateful for your comments regarding check in.

We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable accommodation and a memorable experience for our customers and it is nice to learn that our efforts have proved successful.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We found the hotel easily and parking was excellent. The hotel is situated alongside a McDonalds and. Frankie and Bennys so there is a choice for eating if you don't want to venture too far from the hotel. There was a note left saying there is building work going on by the hotel on the roads but we didn't hear any noise from the work.
Our room was roomy enough for 3 adults and although the sofa bed was not as comfortable as the main bed it meant saving on the cost of a second room when just staying for 1 night.
The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate but I did find the scrambled egg quite salty.
The hotel is well situated in the central area of England and is well positioned for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanR1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Joan

Thanks for leaving your review.

I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and agree that we offer a great location with easy access to the Midlands road network and associated attractions and localities.

We pride ourselves on offering customers good value and it is always pleasing to learn that customers are happy with our efforts.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My mother and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Lichfield for one night. The staff on the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and kind. We wanted some milk to make another cup of tea so they filled a cup of several pots for us. They asked if we needed extra tea bags or anything else. They were also more than helpful when I asked if we could have a safety pin and gave me a cute little sewing kit to keep. The rooms were clean and spacious and there was free wifi. All in all a really nice stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Catherine,

I am really pleased that we have managed to exceed your expectations and that you felt your stay was worthy of a five star review.

We discuss customer feedback on a daily basis and I can assure you that the team will be happy to learn of your positive experience.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Lichfield.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This being the first time we have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn, we were looking forward to the experience. At check-in we only spent a few minutes at the desk before we got our keys. The room was very pleasant, with all the stuff you normally associate with a decent hotel room. Good shower! They adopted the (Premier Inn) gimmick of two types of pillow, but overall the sleeping experience was top-notch. We needed a few incidental extras from reception, but again this was no problem at all. You also get a free breakfast, which is good because the alternative is McDonald's or Frankie & Benny's!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigNeil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Neil.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a five star review following your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express in Lichfield.

I am glad that your first experience with Holiday Inn Express was a positive one and that you found everything to your liking and stress free.

For your future visits you may wish to consider joining our hotel loyalty program that rewards you for staying within our family of brands, these points can be used towards free stays in the future.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After a quick decision to take the family ( 2A + 2c) to Drayton manor park for the bank holiday weekend we decided on Holiday inn express Lichfield, we arrived late on Saturday to be greeted by competent friendly staff and generally first impressions were good. The hotel is 15 minutes from Drayton manor park and situated a few minutes outside of (lovely Lichfield) on a small retail park with Virgin health/ MacDonalds and a Frankies and Bennies restaurant (would recommend - yum).
Hotel has a small bar and serves a good continental breakfast with sausages and scrambled eggs- unfortunately no bacon. Rooms are well equipped even though a little dated. A new shower curtain that is weighted (blows in when showering) would be fantastic as would a yellow tea service/ kettle need replacing and updating. Also the doors close quite loudly which may disturb other residents. Beds are a little on the soft side for me, however my misses loved em as did the kids in another room so really a personal comment. I felt the room price was little more than would be expected for a budget hotel but for a BH weekend acceptable. Downsides would be that it appeared to be understaffed at times, a less than adequate smoker area with full ashtrays and more attention could be applied to communal tables and floors. Would I stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: A good quiet budget hotel with good local amenities.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexPrice1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Steven,

Thanks for leaving a review following your recent stay with us. I hope you had a great trip to Drayton Manor.

I am pleased that taking all things into account you had a good stay and that you would choose to stay with us again. We always strive to ensure that we are adequately resourced according to the number of guests we expect to have in the hotel. I am sorry if at any time during your stay we failed to deliver a good service to you.

We are working on our plans for refurbishment at the hotel which is due to commence in the near future.

We look forward to seeing you on our next visit and thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews