We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delightful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited The George Hotel recently and found it to be lovely. The room was spacious and well equipped and very comfortable and quiet even though it overlooked the street.
Staff were welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulFishwick622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for posting such an excellent review. It is always satisfying to know that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

2 things,
First:. it was very complicated to find the room, directions from the desk were poor. Also there was a flight of stairs to haul the luggage up. Luckily we did not have heavy cases but it would have been nice to be offered a porter service especially as I had to go back to the desk 2 times to get help to find the room.
Second: We were woken up both mornings of our stay very early by noise outside the bedroom window.
But, besides that the room was clean, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and the hotel has free parking and is situated in a good position.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Please be assured your comments in regards to the service provided at reception concerning luggage and directions to your room have been noted for future training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Twin room was clean with pleasant décor and furnishings. The mattress on one bed was lumpy so swapped to other one. Breakfast OK. Staff didn't appear very enthusiastic. Just 'went through the motions' and didn't smile. Not around when needed - eg reception, bar. Reception at back entrance from car park so hidden away from front entrance, with no signs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front - as it can be noisy due to late night opening of the bars opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the attitude of the staff which is most unusual as we have received positive comments in past reviews. Please be assured I will review training needs to improve customer service for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We paid a bit extra to get a better room. It was bigger, well equipped but desperately in need of refurbishment. If the hotel management don't fill all the best rooms first, I urge them to do so. For example in our room, there was a broken pane of glass, I imagine they do not want to pay for the repair, because at some future date the old fashioned sash window will be replaced. Maybe the banks are unwilling to lend - difficult problem.

Everything else was brilliant. When we booked, we were offered dinner for £10 each (normally £14). We got three courses from the carvery. The chef was kind enough to cut the big piece of beef in half to get the rarest part that I had asked for. By the way chef, could you not cook the beef in two parts? Cook one rare, the other normal. The rare piece could be adjusted in size as you get the idea how what proportion of rare people want. Considering the food quality, service, and cost, it was excellent value.

All the staff we came in contact with were very kind and helpful, and overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the most modern room available when you book, and ask for the room number so you can check w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay and for your positive comments on staff and food service in the carvery restaurant. It is always our intention to improve the standard of the bedrooms and we do have a programme of refurbishment in place. As you stated the specialist nature of the sash windows means they have to be made specifically to order and can take up to 10 weeks for delivery. I can assue you an order was placed a few weeks ago and we hope to replace the window pane very shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the George, everything was faultless.
Parking was freely available. The room included all mod cons, liked the trouser press.
The breakfast was the perfect English.
The private party we went for was well organised and catered for.

Room Tip: Plenty of parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Webbspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that the private party you attended was most enjoyable. I do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here one night, and in the morning I noticed that neither of the two fire doors nearest my room would close - both were too large for the frame. This wouldn't be have been something that had happened suddenly, and so it's clear that the hotel's own fire inspection policies are sadly lacking. But it's not just omissions - one of the doors (nearest the lift) had clearly been deliberately wedged open.

I reported these failings to the receptionist, who didn't seem that interested and only scribbled down a partial note about one of the doors. I don't have a lot of faith that this would have been dealt with.

If you're staying here, ask the hotel to confirm that:
- they have checked and fixed all fire doors
- they now have a regular inspection regime for fire safety
- they have trained all staff to not wedge fire doors open

If they can't confirm this - don't stay here!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank HemelGooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Thank you for posting a review. I am most concerned to read your comments in regards to fire safety in the hotel. We take every precaution to ensure the safety of our staff and guests and I can assure you all relevant documentation is up to date, including a fire risk assesssment approved by the local fire officer in July of this year. Some doors may be propped open during housekeeping work hours to allow movement of trollies and cleaning staff. The fire authority is quite happy that this process is undertaken and does not put anyone at risk. On completion of duties the corridor fire doors are closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We need somewhere to stay for a stopover when travelling north. We had never been to Lichfield before and were very pleasantly surprised it is a lovely historic town. The George was an inspired choice as it is bang in the centre in a lovely street. The service was impeccable, the food excellent and room (small suite) was really comfortable. We have decided to use this hotel as a base for looking round the area next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubybooboveytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your review. It is extremely pleasing to hear that the service from the team was so highly rated. We certainly take pride in providing a good expereince to all of our guests and we hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
388 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
345 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,737 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £56 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing