We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
392
427
169
56
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
427
169
56
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomold coaching innfour posterbreakfast was buffet styletrouser pressold buildingbird streetfree parkingsingle roomcar parkair conditioninglovely hotelgarrick theatrefunction roomsunday lunchself servicelovely city
Filter
Updating list...
911 - 916 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have already reviewed the restaurant as we had an excellent lunch here.This time we stayed overnight as we were attending a function in the George.We had dinner in the carvery this time and the carvery was just as good with succulent gammon.
The room, overlooked the street but was very quiet even though it was a Saturday night.
We had the full English breakfast with black pudding .All the ingredients were of good quality and cooked well.The hotel runs well as it is obvious that the staff know what they are doing and get on with the job.
The only problem was the room was hot and I slept on top of the sheets and was in such a deep sleep I nearly rolled off the bed which is quite high and woke up when my head touched the bed side locker.

Room Tip: We were in room 62 which was fine.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carshalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for such a positive review! It is good to know that the important things like a good nights sleep, tasty food and a helpful pleasant team enabled you to enjoy your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great location, close to very nice places to go out and have a bite. Good service and facilities
Lichfield has a lot to offer, more than you would expect and the George Hotel is in the middle of it.
I would recommend this hotel in case you are passing by or just want to visit

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elenaespinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Im a pleased that our city centre location, service and facilities suited your needs and hope that you are able to return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel was very pleasant with friendly staff. In an excellent location that is walking distance from the amenities. Friday morning it was breakfast off the menu but Saturday they reverted to buffet breakfast which was not as good.

Overall, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danmead6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review and for your positive comments in regards to all aspects of your stay. We offer a buffet breakfast service each day but during the week we change to a plated menu towards the end of service time to ensure freshness and quality. The increase in guests at a weekend means we are continually re feshing the buffet so presentation and quality are not affected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Want to grow tomatoes - this is the place for you, temperature is perfect. Some humans suffer tho'. " Never mind, lets switch on the air con in the bedroom". "What did you say?" "I said let's switch on the air con" . "I can't hear you, I've switched on the air con and can't hear a b****** thing."
At last to sleep .....now it's 6:30am, "What's that racket?" ( twitches curtains) "it's the street cleaner thingy driving up and down; his mate has got a leaf blower powered by a small hurricane". 7am, "What's that now - its the bin men, can't they crash bins quietly?"

Other than that hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Himinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise issues from the street and that you found the hotel to be very warm. Please be assured your feedback is discussed with all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited The George Hotel recently and found it to be lovely. The room was spacious and well equipped and very comfortable and quiet even though it overlooked the street.
Staff were welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PaulFishwick622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for posting such an excellent review. It is always satisfying to know that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews