We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From professional welcome at Reception to friendliness of bar assistant, a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed in a clean room, an adequate breakfast what more could I add. A good stop-over location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for review. It's good to hear that all apsects of your stay were very good and hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stopped over for one night to break a long journey,we were very impressed with the hotel,the staff were very nice and the food was good.Location was perfect for city center. We will visit again and stay a little longer next time and will definitely stay at The George.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you 'will be back' and hope its in the near future! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Comfortable hotel in an excellent position. Spotlessly clean room with good beds and extra pillows.
Winding corridors with up and down steps could be a problem for less mobile (this is an old building after all). Our room overlooked an alley which was quite noisy during part of night with what sounded like metal trolleys being wheeled across cobbles and empty bottles being thrown out.
Excellent freshly cooked breakfast with wide choice.
The staff, from domestic through to reception staff were excellent. All had friendly smiles and were extremely polite and helpful.
Beware of single room prices which by most standards are on the steep side. Would love to return but could only do so if someone to share room with.
Lichfield is a lovely town with a sense of history. Lots to see and plenty of places to eat. Godd walking country nearby. Magnificent cathedral and 6 miles away is the the National Memorial Arboretum which is well worth a visit - allow plenty of time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yorkshireflannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read such a good review of your recent stay and we are pleased that you were able to make the most of the local surroundings. I will certainly pass on your excellent comments to my team on the standard of housekeeping and breakfast. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had to make a last minute visit to the area. In the ten nights, we had to move rooms twice because the hotel was so booked up, but this was all taken care of by the staff of the hotel.
Having stayed here many times we are always impressed by the quality and dedication of the staff, they are the hotels greatest asset.
At last they are getting rid of the carvery in the evening, and are opening a proper restaurant in mid April, looking forward to trying it.

Room Tip: Room 35 a nice standard double, 64 & 65 very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Its good to read that you enjoyed your extended stay with us and my team will be very pleased to hear that they were prasied for their performance. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a great weekend just got home was upgraded to room with four poster bed a nice surprise staff very helpful breakfast was very nice we have stayed here before lovely town plenty of eating places we recommend thia resturant across the road

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review on your recent stay and in particular the four poster bedroom and good quality breakfast. Your positive comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

we stayed in Lichfield for the night after visiting the theatre, the hotel was very clean and the staff were very welcoming. the room was on the small side and we were opposite a late opening pub but the double glazing kept out most of the noise. Although the room was on the small size it was clean and comfortable with a nice sized bathroom. We didn't have the break fast this stay but have had it on previous occasions and it has been quite good. We would definitely stay here again as it is really good value and central to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank beelover_ukj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are ideally placed for a visit to the Garrick Theatre and all other attractions in Lichfield and we are pleased your stay was a good experience. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Pietrojovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
353 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,767 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £55 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing