We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose The George at Lichfield for a family reunion. It is in a great location and perfect to visit this lovely city. However one of our party booked a single room 2 weeks before our visit and on the day before arrival was advised the hotel was overbooked. Despite explaining the reason for our trip his booking was cancelled. He was offered 2 alternative hotels, one in the outskirts of Lichfield and one centrally located, both cheaper than The George. He declined to stay in alternative accommodation as we all wanted to be in the same place. It meant various trains and taxis instead, a very disappointing experience. Those of us that did stay had the noise from the night club opposite which on a Saturday night continued well into the early hours of Sunday morning. The hotel has recently been decorated so looks good, however our experience has made sure we won't return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I offer my most sincere apologies that we had to find alternative accommodation for your friends booking. Please be assured I have investigated the reasons why this happened and have put into place a training plan to alleviate such problems in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lichfield is a lovely, very small city and well worth a visit. The George Hotel is centrally located with a large carpark. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we did not notice much noise, even over a weekend. There was enough choice at the buffet style breakfast and the bar was pleasant place for a nightcap. All the staff were delightful. Would recommend the George.

Room Tip: The superior room had a separate "lounge" so more room but not sure it would have been wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The George. We are extremely pleased your enjoyed yourselves and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is perfect for a visit to Lichfield, with its central position. On the two nights we were there we had a lovely comfortable room, the staff were friendly and helpful, food was great. If we go back we would be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us. Once again it is pleasing to read another positive report on the bedroom, staff and central location. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

George hotel is everything it says on the label, very good, comfortable, helpful staff and central to the lovely town of Lichfield well worth a visit. Downside was we were not advised the kitchen and restaurant would be closed for refurb for a week on from the day we arrived, but many restaurant's nearby. Also a great base for visiting the National Arboretum which I would recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful sometimes moving but enjoyable day out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your very good review. My apologies that you were not informed of the restaurant refurbishment and hope that you visit us again to see our new Darwin's at The George evening dinner menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From professional welcome at Reception to friendliness of bar assistant, a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed in a clean room, an adequate breakfast what more could I add. A good stop-over location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for review. It's good to hear that all apsects of your stay were very good and hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stopped over for one night to break a long journey,we were very impressed with the hotel,the staff were very nice and the food was good.Location was perfect for city center. We will visit again and stay a little longer next time and will definitely stay at The George.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you 'will be back' and hope its in the near future! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Comfortable hotel in an excellent position. Spotlessly clean room with good beds and extra pillows.
Winding corridors with up and down steps could be a problem for less mobile (this is an old building after all). Our room overlooked an alley which was quite noisy during part of night with what sounded like metal trolleys being wheeled across cobbles and empty bottles being thrown out.
Excellent freshly cooked breakfast with wide choice.
The staff, from domestic through to reception staff were excellent. All had friendly smiles and were extremely polite and helpful.
Beware of single room prices which by most standards are on the steep side. Would love to return but could only do so if someone to share room with.
Lichfield is a lovely town with a sense of history. Lots to see and plenty of places to eat. Godd walking country nearby. Magnificent cathedral and 6 miles away is the the National Memorial Arboretum which is well worth a visit - allow plenty of time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yorkshireflannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to read such a good review of your recent stay and we are pleased that you were able to make the most of the local surroundings. I will certainly pass on your excellent comments to my team on the standard of housekeeping and breakfast. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
353 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,768 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £55 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing