We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank sylviao296
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here twice now to see shows at the Garrick theatre. It's is a charming hotel full of character. Rooms nice and clean, staff very welcoming. Breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice, waiting staff very accommodating. Hotel perfectly situated for shops, restaurants and the theatre. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that our central location enabled you to visit the theatre. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a joy to check into this hotel. Firstly the front desk checkin woman was excellent. I wrote down her name but unfortunately have not found the slip of paper... but she was the most helpful person I have met in a long time. I had many questions and she answered them all and even printed out the directions to our cousins in Litchfield plus performed magic on a few other requests from this Canadian!! The room was perfect, the best one we stayed in England - and everything was provided for your stay. I would happily stay a week in this hotel. The breakfast was everything, the location second to none and PARKING!!!!!! No tiny lot with annoying meters etc - this was the real thing! Only one point - ask how the heating stays off as the room was quite warm and getting back to the room late I couldn't figure it out. Luckily the windows open but the hotel is toasty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alisonrwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments and for particularly mentioning the front office team. We are pleased that your felt very comfortable staying with us and that we provided a high level of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in the 18th Century Hotel for 2 nights in June. I love old buildings and this one doesn't disappoint. Room was of a high standard, clean & in good order, the staff curious and friendly, the breakfast a delight. If you're staying in Lichfield you won't go far wrong to stay here. The City of Lichfield itself is a beautiful green City, well worth spending a few days exploring.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob58uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for posting some positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Our 18th Century former coaching Inn is ideally situated for exploring the vibrant City of Lichfield and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great hotel. Traditional building right in the city centre. Good feel with modern service and facilities. Loved Lichfield and loved this hotel. Darwins restaurant good, too. All staff polite and friendly. Thanks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our traditional surroundings and our new Darwins restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Traditional charming "coaching inn" type hotel. If you want clinical modern stay at the local Premier Inn, probably cheaper! Local streets abound with proper pubs and a wide choice of restaurants. Hotel restaurant and bar very competative. Stayed previously, no window views but even the single room OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank john56ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The George when staying in Lichfield. I am glad the hotel suited your needs and you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

we arrived at about 12 midday even though we knew check in was not until 3.00pm.lucky for us our room was ready so we did not have to get changed in the loo, as the wedding was at 2.00 the staff were brilliant lady on desk told me where to shop for a fascinator as I had no time to shop for .one nearer home. Room was very cosy ,breakfast was buffet style and plentiful.Even though our party were last down and late for breakfast nobody rushed us. Lovely hotel right in the centre of town and 5 mins walk to the registery office. Would definately stay there again.
Thanks to all the staff. V.B

Room Tip: We had a standard double at the side and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank valandjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on your stay when attending a wedding reception. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
396 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
352 reviews
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,767 reviews
6.5 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#7 of 11 in Tamworth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £55 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing