We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - pity about the other guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent two nights at the George Hotel in Lichfield. The Hotel has plenty of atmosphere and is a delight to stay in. I didn't eat in the restaurant instead opting for a bar meal which was excellent and good value for money.

The breakfast was superb with very well cooked food. It really set me up for the day.

Only downside was that there was a wedding reception at the hotel which caused parking problems and also the wedding guests were oblivious to the fact that there were others in the hotel. Drunken guests laughing and loudly joking on their way to their bedrooms was unforgivable - they had no consideration for anyone else. Not much the Hotel could do about such bad behaviour and it was definitely a downer on my stay.

Will definitely stay at this Hotel again - just hope the other guests are not a bunch of drunken idiots next time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review and your excellent comments. I do apologise that you were disturbed by our other guests leaving the wedding function. I am pleased that this did not spoil your enjoyment of the hotel and that you will choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a holiday using four hotels, all about the same price and I can only say
The George was very poor value. We requested a room with walk in shower if possible and were given a room which I am sure in days gone by would have been a servants quarter. It was small, dingy and the plumbing was inadequate. I do not understand how it was considered appropriate to charge us the full room rate.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank margaret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your bedroom allocated was not to your satisfaction. We are an 18th Century former coaching inn and so some of our rooms are all shapes and sizes. The room allocated has a standard size double bed with walk in shower and has all the facilities associated with this room type. We believe the creaky floorboards and slanted ceilings are very much part of our personality which you don't often get with the large new hotel chains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

took my husband away for his birthday , we had a great afternoon tea the cakes are lovely . The room was fab and the bed was so soft, it was a great weekend and the staff were very helpful .It was nice to be in the center of everything to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Symon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank your for your review on your stay and afternoon tea. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank sylviao296
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here twice now to see shows at the Garrick theatre. It's is a charming hotel full of character. Rooms nice and clean, staff very welcoming. Breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice, waiting staff very accommodating. Hotel perfectly situated for shops, restaurants and the theatre. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that our central location enabled you to visit the theatre. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a joy to check into this hotel. Firstly the front desk checkin woman was excellent. I wrote down her name but unfortunately have not found the slip of paper... but she was the most helpful person I have met in a long time. I had many questions and she answered them all and even printed out the directions to our cousins in Litchfield plus performed magic on a few other requests from this Canadian!! The room was perfect, the best one we stayed in England - and everything was provided for your stay. I would happily stay a week in this hotel. The breakfast was everything, the location second to none and PARKING!!!!!! No tiny lot with annoying meters etc - this was the real thing! Only one point - ask how the heating stays off as the room was quite warm and getting back to the room late I couldn't figure it out. Luckily the windows open but the hotel is toasty.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alisonrwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments and for particularly mentioning the front office team. We are pleased that your felt very comfortable staying with us and that we provided a high level of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in the 18th Century Hotel for 2 nights in June. I love old buildings and this one doesn't disappoint. Room was of a high standard, clean & in good order, the staff curious and friendly, the breakfast a delight. If you're staying in Lichfield you won't go far wrong to stay here. The City of Lichfield itself is a beautiful green City, well worth spending a few days exploring.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob58uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for posting some positive feedback on your recent stay with us. Our 18th Century former coaching Inn is ideally situated for exploring the vibrant City of Lichfield and the surrounding area. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
408 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
370 reviews
7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £50 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing