We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rooms were nice, location perfect for exploring Lichfield. Car park not the best to find, but we got there in the end. We did not take the breakfast option, we would stay here again, for shopping and general exploration of the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank primroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that the hotel fulfilled your needs and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    376
    151
    46
    44
See reviews for
127
446
39
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed at Hotel for our Wedding Night. We couldn't get an early check in which was disappointing. Room was extremely dated, stain on bathroom mat. Hair in the bath, piece of foam insulation under the pillow, clock was slow in the room causing us to nearly miss breakfast which finished at 10. We called reception at 9.50 on our clock in the room to check on times and was told breakfast had finished and we were too late. Fortunately we managed to get in to get some breakfast. Staff were tidying and moving tables around us and other guests whist we were eating. We did mention to Reception the issues above and didn't even receive an apology. As a Lichfield resident I don't think I would recommend the Hotel. It certainly didn't represent value for money at £116!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I offer my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us and you believe your overnight stay was not good value. Our reviews regularly compliment my staff, service and facilities but unfortunately on this occasion we did not achieve the level of service I expect. Please be assured your comments will be reviewed with my management team to improve quality and service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent two nights at the George Hotel in Lichfield. The Hotel has plenty of atmosphere and is a delight to stay in. I didn't eat in the restaurant instead opting for a bar meal which was excellent and good value for money.

The breakfast was superb with very well cooked food. It really set me up for the day.

Only downside was that there was a wedding reception at the hotel which caused parking problems and also the wedding guests were oblivious to the fact that there were others in the hotel. Drunken guests laughing and loudly joking on their way to their bedrooms was unforgivable - they had no consideration for anyone else. Not much the Hotel could do about such bad behaviour and it was definitely a downer on my stay.

Will definitely stay at this Hotel again - just hope the other guests are not a bunch of drunken idiots next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidcmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your excellent comments. I do apologise that you were disturbed by our other guests leaving the wedding function. I am pleased that this did not spoil your enjoyment of the hotel and that you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teignmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a holiday using four hotels, all about the same price and I can only say
The George was very poor value. We requested a room with walk in shower if possible and were given a room which I am sure in days gone by would have been a servants quarter. It was small, dingy and the plumbing was inadequate. I do not understand how it was considered appropriate to charge us the full room rate.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank margaret n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your bedroom allocated was not to your satisfaction. We are an 18th Century former coaching inn and so some of our rooms are all shapes and sizes. The room allocated has a standard size double bed with walk in shower and has all the facilities associated with this room type. We believe the creaky floorboards and slanted ceilings are very much part of our personality which you don't often get with the large new hotel chains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

took my husband away for his birthday , we had a great afternoon tea the cakes are lovely . The room was fab and the bed was so soft, it was a great weekend and the staff were very helpful .It was nice to be in the center of everything to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Symon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank your for your review on your stay and afternoon tea. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here twice now to see shows at the Garrick theatre. It's is a charming hotel full of character. Rooms nice and clean, staff very welcoming. Breakfast buffet style with plenty of choice, waiting staff very accommodating. Hotel perfectly situated for shops, restaurants and the theatre. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that our central location enabled you to visit the theatre. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England (Formerly Best Western The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing