We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We went to Lichfield to visit the Arboretum and Memorial. On the Memorial website it had a button called accommodation. This lead us to a list of hotels in the vicinity. We took one at random. What an excellent choice. Great accommodation, superb food and excellent service. Situated in a part of Lichfield that was full of life but not noisy. We will go back and explore Lichfield properly, it seems it has a lot to offer. One tip, get hold of an up to date map showing the pedestrian areas which are no go for cars.

Room Tip: We took pot luck and were delighted. Give it a go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review and for your kind comments. The team here at The George will be most pleased that they were able to provide you with a good experience. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were ok, not great, and bed was comfortable. Small space in room and bathroom. Breakfast was very good and well serviced. Bar prices are very good and food good. Hotel staff were very friendly. Good hotel for a night or two, not a resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretzacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are most pleased that the hotel provided a good base for you when attending the wedding reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night. The room was clean, service in the restaurant and bar was very professional. The location of the hotel is hard to beat, right in the centre of town. I would stay again. First class experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your excellent feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were needing to visit relatives in Lichfield and tried to stay at the George Inn. Every time we went onto Best Western.com the prices on the website increased. The worst was going from 82 pounds to 106 in three different attempts to book. I even phoned the hotel from Canada to enquire what was going on. We booked a cheap night on Sunday and then went online only to find it was 20 pounds cheaper so we cancelled the night and booked all our nights at the Holiday Inn express where they bent over backwards to make sure all our needs were met and it was a lot cheaper and included breakfast. We still have one night booked at the George - our last night in Lichfield because we had pre paid because of the ever increasing prices. If we had not prepaid we would not be staying there. We are hoping our last night gives us something positive to say. We have never had anything as bad as this at any Best Western throughout the world and have previously been dedicated Best Western users.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that the booking process was not easy for you and the rates changed frequently on the Best Western.com site. Your feedback is important to us and we do hope your faith in Best Western will soon be restored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have popped in occaisionaly for a light lunch with my wife and find the meals good value but the afternoon tea is very good for £10.00.Also a pint of Courage Directors was a fine example of real ale...pretty good for a hotel.

Room Tip: at the rear would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirmikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review of afternoon tea and lunch. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your short visit and we hope you choose to call in again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

All of the staff were as helpful as they could be. They were friendly and cheerful and dealt with minor issues our party had with a calm, professional manner. The staff made the whole experience a great pleasure, the like of which, I have not experienced in the UK before. The room was large and well equipped. The hotel has a great location though that does make car parking a little awkward.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for such a great review of your stay and for the special praise you give to the staff. They will certainly be proud that they made your stay so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband decided to have his retirement do here as they offered a really good package. Lovely room, lovely friendly and efficient staff, nice buffet, would definitely hire again. Very laid back, just what we wanted. Many thanks.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Juliastravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on your recent banqueting function. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and do hope that you will choose the hotel for any future celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
409 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
370 reviews
7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £49 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing