We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Lichfield”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location in Lichfield”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very good location in the centre of Lichfield. The only tricky thing was finding the car park as the hotel is on a pedestrian only street but ample free car parking. Nice clean room and for a single was a reasonable size with a large single bed and a bonus was the fridge in the room, tea making facilities and an iron in the room. Overall a very good stay although the first night was very noisy as there was a party on which was going in until well into the early hours. Also very good value for money. I booked direct with the hotel website and got a good last minute deal. Would recommend to anyone who wants to visit Lichfield or the National Memorial Arboretum which is about 15 - 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 25ahowbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. We are very pleased that everything was to a high standard and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    394
    159
    48
    49
See reviews for
138
477
41
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were very much more than pleasantly surprised by our stay at The George in Lichfield. It's a lovely old building in itself, the function room looks amazing, the rooms are great, very well equipped. Every single member of staff that we came across was lovely, smiley and very helpful. We didn't use the restaurant during the evening, but the food and service at breakfast was superb. The position of the hotel in the centre of the city is ideal, and there's plenty of choice for eating very close by. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again when in Lichfield, and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in the city.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and was placed on the opposite side of the building to the function room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for writing such an excellent review of all aspects of your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and your kind comments are much appreciated by the hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Visiting friends inLichfield for their Golden wedding we had 3 nights at the George.
An excellent break ideally situated for visiting Lichfield which is well worth visiting. Good parking in hotels own car park means you dont need to move the car during your stay. Staff were very accommodating. Restaurants in road very good and hotel breakfastt excellent. Our room on the front was very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you chose to stay with us again and that it suited your needs. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

As a central hotel the George is perfect, a private car park attached to a central car park with the hotel being in a pedestrian street. Rooms are a little old but comfortable. All facilities are provided with a bar, restaurant and quiet areas. If booking ask for a room accessed by the lift, there are attic rooms that are accred via stairs. We shall certainly make use of this hotel in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GordonSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enderby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Used the hotel after attending a wedding held locally. Didn't spend to much time in the hotel it's self as we checked in and went straight off to the wedding, the checkin staff friendly and helpful booking taxis and so on.

Based in the town centre thought it might be noisy at night but my room was on the back and slept with window open all night. Room was very clean and tidy but needs modernising looked a little dated now.

Good choice at breakfast and nice friendly service, food all well cooked. Restaurant area was nice but a little dark could do with better lighting.

All in all good hotel for the price, would stay again if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leemus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to read that the hotel suited your needs and we thank you for your positive comments and all aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The first room we had fixed secondary glazing and was very stuffy, the hotel was full so we couldn't change until the following day. Thank you Polly for making the switch over so easy.
All the staff were friendly and helpful The second room was great (so was the first one except for the window) comfortable bed etc etc.
Had sandwich and drink in the bar which was very good and breakfast had all the things you could want.
Centrally located in the city, would recommend for a stay.

Room Tip: If you want a window that opens they are on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam_summers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your positive comments. Please be assured your feedback is important to us as we strive to improve quality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I visited this hotel with a group of singers acting as the choir for Lichfield Cathedral for a week. I have never had better service at any hotel anywhere in the world.My very Best to Alan, Phil and Sharon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and your comments will be passed on to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
2.5 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
7.0 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,676 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Property: Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lichfield
Lichfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing