We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just arrived back from a weekend away staying at the Cathedral Lodge Hotel. The hotel is ideal in its location near to the centre, you can park the car and leave it there. The rooms are clean & have a good supply of coffee & tea. Food is excellent! Really good hearty breakfast & all the meals are really good quality & value. The main thing I believe that is brilliant are the staff. Eva & all the other staff could not do enough for you. They were cheerful, friendly & helpful this gives the hotel its lovely inviting atmosphere. We will be staying again. Well done to the Cathedral Lodge & it's staff for giving us a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night mid week break in Lichfield, where we stayed at Cathedral Lodge hotel.
The hotel is in a good location and is about 5-10 min downhill walk into town, passing Lichfield cathedral on the way.
The room we stayed in was on the front of the hotel and overlooked the main road, which wasn't too noisy although we stayed mid week so it may be busier at the weekend.
There was no air con in the room so the road at the front might be a problem in the warmer weather if you wanted to sleep with the window open.
Our room had a double bed and a single bed next to each other and they were very comfortable.
There was a tv with all the freeview channels and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The only negative to the room was the bathroom, it was very small with an equally small bath. The shower above the bath was very good but as soon as you turned the shower on the curtain just stuck to you, and you had to sit side saddle on the toilet because of the radiator and toilet roll holder.
The staff at the hotel were great, very helpful, day and night and couldn't do enough to help you.
The maid came in both days we were there and made the beds and changed the towels.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and loads of it and all freshly cooked.
Lichfield itself was very nice with plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from. We went midweek and it was fairly busy so I would imagine weekends would be buzzing.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of hotel overlook the car park and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This well-situated hotel, just 5 minutes' walk from the cathedral is most comfortable and with excellent food. Warmly welcoming and very helpful. Unfortunately not suitable for wheel-chair users. It is popular for functions and wedding parties, so best to check this out before booking, or your Saturday night could be noisy.

Room Tip: The main road at the front is busy and can be a nuisance if you are sensitive to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

From arriving at the hotel, the staff could not have been more accommodating. The room with it's supply of coffee, tea and biscuits was very comfortable. The TV was large and there was little to find fault with, if anything really. The bathroom though small was adequate and on our first visit to the comfortable bar we were surprised to enjoy the first round free. We had our meal in the bar rather than the excellent restaurant and the food was first class. Breakfast in the morning was taken in the restaurant and was to a very high standard. All in all we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All seem comfortable but if you don't like noise at the weekend one above the bar is perhaps not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place has all the ingredients to be a nice if dated hotel. We stayed here on a Saturday night in June when the hotel was hosting a wedding -perhaps they should have told us that when we booked especially as our room was right above the disco which went on past midnight. I went to the bar earlier in the evening to get a glass of wine. The bar staff did not know what could and could not be sold by the glass, where the corkscrew was or how to operate it.
Breakfast was slow and the promised glass of Champaign was offered to all other diners other than us - I didn't complain as I do not drink in the mornings.
I like old fashioned places with character but this just needed Basil Fawlty to complete the ambience

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding on!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've stayed here several times when working in Lichfield, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. It's not exactly luxury accommodation, but I've never been to a friendlier, more welcoming hotel - and that's what makes the difference. The staff are nuts (in a lovely way!), and almost feel like your friends at the end of the stay. They will always go out of their way to make sure you're okay (for example - I wasn't hungry one morning so they made me a bacon sandwich to take for lunch). The bar's a lovely, friendly area too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The cathedral lodge in a good location. The room we had on the second floor was roomy and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and the cooked breakfast was the best we had had.The hotel was well placed for a visit to the cathedral and all local amenities. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junebloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
371 reviews
7.4 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral is a family owned and run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function and conference facilities and a 24 hour licensed bar. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield, just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent Cathedral, and our exceptional friendly staff will ensure that you receive a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing