We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value friendly staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cathedral Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value friendly staff ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Omg what a lovely hotel my husband and I stayed August 2nd and a had lovely time from start to finish room lovely clean,bed comfy excellent staff and a 24 hour bar I was a little hung over and was offered water etc well looked after by excellent friendly staff,we was even allowed to leave our car there so we could explore Lichfield I would definitely recommend and 100 percent stay again I didn't manage the breakfast but my husband had eggs Benedict and he said it was lovely can't rate this hotel enough xxxx

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    135
    54
    24
    15
See reviews for
47
154
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked the Cathedral Lodge to be able to have a tourists view of the city, I having lived close to the city for the first 21 years of my life. The accommodation was as described, good value for money. Clean/ tidy and the breakfast was very substantial. the staff were very pleasant and attentive, nothing was too much trouble

Room Tip: Only comment would be learn how to open the window to its full extent, when we stayed humidity was 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we had a family do.
Location:
The hotel is a nice 10 minute walk from the station. It is 5 minutes from the Cathedral. Lots of lovely old pubs and tea rooms etc
The hotel itself was lovely. The staff were really friendly and welcoming from the start.
The rooms were a good size, clean and beds very comfortable. You have free bottles of water and tea and coffee facilities. The bar area downstairs was lovely, looking out onto the street. The first drink was in the house!
The breakfast was delicious, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, omlettes, full english, continental and champagne if you fancy it!
We all enjoyed the food and thought the eggs were cooked perfectly and the toast wasnt burnt.
The staff were really great, and they all looked like they really enjoyed working there, lovely atmosphere. Our taxi was late ( fault of taxi company) so one of the workers Clare drove us to the station so we didnt miss our train.
We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Must begin by saying that the staff here is extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed five nights and they almost made us feel like family. The few things that needed improvement were handled quickly and efficiently and we were even comped food and drink during our stay. Location is also good and the bar is quite pleasant. Good parking. The hotel itself though is comfortable but very basic. No elevators means carrying luggage up steep narrow stairs. Fans in rooms during recent hot weather barely made an impact and due to bad design our window opened so slightly as to make it worthless. Although signs indicate the hotel is nonsmoking, the nonsmoking signs appear on some room doors but not others, and the first room we were given contained an ashtray. Daily breakfast is included with room but eggs were cooked so badly every I tried them that I resorted to eating croissants. Hollandaise sauce pale, lumpy and tasteless. Even the toast tended to be burned. They definitely need a new chef.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marannstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I visted the Cathedral Lodge Hotel for a meeting and was extremely happy with the venue. Friendly and welcoming staff were responsive to all our requests, and were very helpful - from initial contact through to settling the bill on our departure. We will certainly contact the hotel again in the future if we host another meeting in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just arrived back from a weekend away staying at the Cathedral Lodge Hotel. The hotel is ideal in its location near to the centre, you can park the car and leave it there. The rooms are clean & have a good supply of coffee & tea. Food is excellent! Really good hearty breakfast & all the meals are really good quality & value. The main thing I believe that is brilliant are the staff. Eva & all the other staff could not do enough for you. They were cheerful, friendly & helpful this gives the hotel its lovely inviting atmosphere. We will be staying again. Well done to the Cathedral Lodge & it's staff for giving us a most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night mid week break in Lichfield, where we stayed at Cathedral Lodge hotel.
The hotel is in a good location and is about 5-10 min downhill walk into town, passing Lichfield cathedral on the way.
The room we stayed in was on the front of the hotel and overlooked the main road, which wasn't too noisy although we stayed mid week so it may be busier at the weekend.
There was no air con in the room so the road at the front might be a problem in the warmer weather if you wanted to sleep with the window open.
Our room had a double bed and a single bed next to each other and they were very comfortable.
There was a tv with all the freeview channels and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The only negative to the room was the bathroom, it was very small with an equally small bath. The shower above the bath was very good but as soon as you turned the shower on the curtain just stuck to you, and you had to sit side saddle on the toilet because of the radiator and toilet roll holder.
The staff at the hotel were great, very helpful, day and night and couldn't do enough to help you.
The maid came in both days we were there and made the beds and changed the towels.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and loads of it and all freshly cooked.
Lichfield itself was very nice with plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from. We went midweek and it was fairly busy so I would imagine weekends would be buzzing.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of hotel overlook the car park and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uny1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
2.8 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
305 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cathedral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cathedral Hotel

Property: The Cathedral Hotel
Address: 62 Beacon Street, Lichfield WS13 7AR, England (Formerly Cathedral Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cathedral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership, The Cathedral Hotel is an independant family run hotel comprising of 36 comfortable en suite rooms, excellent function & conference facilities, 24hr licensed bar and a restaurant. The hotel is set in the heart of the beautiful city of Lichfield,just a two minute walk from the city centre and the magnificent cathedral. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cathedral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Hotel Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing