We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pipe Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pipe Hill House
Ranked #4 of 11 Lichfield B&B and Inns
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting relatives locally and wasn't disappointed - everything about this place is perfect. From the moment you arrive you are welcomed into a beautiful house with genuine hospitality. The owners are attentive but not intrusive, and clearly care very much about their service, and the comfort of their guests. We stayed in the Botanic room which was absolutely amazing - spacious, comfortable, devine bathroom and little extras such as fresh milk and home baked cookies. Breakfast was delicious (for the meat and non-meat eater) with an individual touch, and the breakfast trifle was sublime! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Botanic room is beautiful with a stunning, spacious ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
‘Excellent’! That’s a great way to describe Pipe Hill House! Thank you so much for your compliments after just one night.

We love our rooms too. The Botanic, Snowberry and Walnut rooms all have silent mini fridges for fresh milk and filtered water, we’ve tried to think of everything and it’s brilliant when guests share their feedback.

And we’re delighted that you enjoyed our ‘delicious’ breakfast! We’d be thrilled to see you both again too when you’re visiting relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
50
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Everything about Pipe Hill House is excellent. An oasis of peace and quality, with exceptional service from your hosts. Rooms are calming and very comfortable, with everything you could need. Breakfast is a splendid indulgence.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Manager at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for such an excellent review! It’s great when our regular visitors reward us by sharing their fantastic feedback. We know how busy you are and taking the time to register with Trip Advisor is very much appreciated.

We’ve tried to ensure Pipe Hill House is a great place to stay, whether you’re travelling alone or with friends and whatever the reason for the visit to Lichfield. And wow! Our breakfasts are a ‘splendid indulgence’ – what a great way to describe our home made muesli and locally sourced ingredients!

Thank you so much once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We were travelling from the North West to Somerset and needed an overnight stop. we looked at Trip Advisor and decided to try Pipe Hill House as it had such good reviews.
Well, they were correct, this is probably the very best B & B we've ever stayed in and we've stayed in a great many over the past 20 years.
We were a little late arriving but were greeted with a smile and though it was after 6 we were offered Tea and a piece of Cake, we asked about places nearby to eat and were directed to 'The Boat' (separate review) which was fine.
Our room could not have been more comfortable and clean in addition to being really spacious with a lovely bathroom.
We slept really well on a very comfortable bed and had a filter coffee and delicious Oat biscuits before going down for breakfast.
Breakfast was delicious and very generous in a delightful room looking over the garden at the back of the house.

We would recommend Pipe Hill House to anyone, it really is the most delightful B&B, though offering at least as much if not more comfort and ambiance than many 5 star hotels.
Many thanks to Nick, and we hope to have an excuse to visit again soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! We’re a very popular half way house from the North West to the south of England! And we’re so glad you had a good night’s sleep before the rest of your journey the next day. Thank you also for the compliments on our delicious Oat Cookies and generous breakfast. Hopefully you didn’t need to stop for lunch :)

As you selected Pipe Hill House based on the reviews, it’s good of you to take the time to add your own review, as the majority of our visitors read them but prefer not to add them. And finally Lichfield is the city of festivals – from literary to cultural, historical to food – many reasons to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights in Pipe Hill House, from arrival to departure a first class service was provided. We received a very warm welcome from Nick on arrival with home baked cake and tea provided which was very welcome after a 5.45 am start from Nortern Ireland that morning.Botanic Room was lovely, bed so comfortable, great room to relax in after a busy day. Fridge in room with milk to allow us to have a cup of tea along with the delicious Pipe Hill cookies that were provided each day this was such a thoughtful idea. Breakfasts were scrumptious, we tried everything from the cooked breakfast( sausages and bacon were yummy) Aga egg amazingly good,cereals,homemade bread and jam a delight to eat, strawberry jam made the day before.Anne Marie's breakfast trifles looked so lovely and were delicious to eat. Have been trying to make them at home but just not the same taste.My husband really enjoyed banana smoothie with cinnamon, he was pleased that Anne Marie suggested he try it.Anne Marie and Nick were lovely people made us feel very welcome and at ease in their home and were so helpful with directions to the National Memorial Arboretum and information on the area.Anne Marie and Nick have a beautiful home and certainly know how to provide a first class service, I will definitely be recommending them to friends and family.

Room Tip: Botanic Room lovely, but I am certain other bedrooms will equally be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Wow! That’s a fabulous review. Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback, especially as you had an equally long journey home! We’re thrilled you loved our breakfasts from the traditional English to our homemade cereals, breads and jams as well as the smoothies and trifles. As the seasons change, we’ve been busy making plum and damson jams this week. We’re thinking they may be best described as ‘conserves’ as they’re not a thick set jam! We’re also looking at more rhubarb recipes as we seem to have grown a lot of this over the last few months!

People stay with us for many reasons, from business people needing WiFi and a desk, to great people like yourselves taking a break and visiting the very special National Memorial Arboretum which is on our doorstep. It’s wonderful to be able to make our guests’ visits more memorable and we’re delighted that we made you feel welcome too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Words are not enough for this very special place, the service from Anne Marie was equal to anything I have eve had in a kind and affectionate not subservient manner, absolutely first class. the bedroom we had (Snowberry) was devine with an amazing bedroom and bathroom really top drawer furnishings and equally tastefully finished. The house itself is stunning and a real credit to the owners. I cannot wait to return and recommend if ever in Staffordshire you should take time to sample the wonderful Pipe Hill House. Simply fabulous.

Room Tip: Just make sure you experience the building, we stayed in Snowberry on top floor which I could recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianM853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much! That’s a superb review, especially as you’re a senior contributor, it does make a difference to us.

As we’re owner managers and we’ve travelled a lot, we know the levels of service we prefer, as well as the furnishings we like, so we try to deliver the same for our guests. We’re delighted you were both able to stay at Pipe Hill House and thank you again for your compliments and great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

A faultless four night stay in Pipe Hill house just finished today. A beautiful location and a short drive to Lichfield, the setting would be hard to top in the area. Our room was great and my wife and I liked the small touches (fresh milk, chocs, cookies etc) that were replenished daily. The room was spotless and beautifully appointed. The breakfast(s) were delicious - what a difference it makes knowing your breakfast is made from the best ingredients!

The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and their local knowledge meant we made the most of our stay in the area. Thanks.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xxxxpremierexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Manager at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Wow! That’s a brilliant review! It’s so good of you having stayed here for four nights, to take time to share your feedback about Pipe Hill House in Lichfield. The Walnut Room has the highest ceiling in the house although we don’t know why. As the house is over 200 years old it still has many mysteries.

We’re delighted you enjoyed the Mega Oat Cookies and fresh milk for teas and coffees in your room. And we love having discerning guests like you who really appreciate our local, organic and homemade breakfasts, so thank you once again for a fantastic review, we’re delighted you had such a great stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for one night at Pipe Hill House. The house is wonderfully decorated and tastefully furnished. We were welcomed with freshly brewed tea and home made cake. It was lovely relaxing stay - we are just trying to find an excuse to go back!

We had a large airy room with huge ensuite bathroom including his and her sinks. The superking bed and high quality bedding ensured a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlousielondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Owner at Pipe Hill House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! And there are so many reasons to visit Lichfield! From all the festivals that take place here, to using Lichfield as a base to shop in Birmingham or just escaping for a weekend to Lichfield! Our bedding is Egyptian cotton with a high thread count which ensures a luxurious night’s sleep. Our heavenly big beds are popular with all our guests, as we think it’s so important to get a comfortable bed when away from home, so our smallest bed is King Size!

It’s great that you chose Pipe Hill House for your visit to Lichfield and thank you once again for a fabulous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
1.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipe Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipe Hill House

Property: Pipe Hill House
Address: Pipe Hill House Walsall Road | Pipe Hill, Lichfield WS13 8JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lichfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pipe Hill House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pipe Hill House luxury Bed and Breakfast in Lichfield is an AA 5 Gold Star, Highly Commended, Fully Licensed B&B in a house of historical interest. With free WiFi, very comfortable beds and great breakfasts.Our guest bedrooms have modern ensuite facilities with WiFi, flat screen TVs, DAB Alarm Clock Radios, Tea & Coffee making facilities and king sized beds. The ensuite bathrooms have great showers, dressing gowns, large white fluffy towels and environmentally friendly (paraban free) organic toiletries.There is off road parking and our great breakfasts cater for all diets; for meat eaters, vegetarians, vegans and other special requirements. Pipe Hill House is a no smoking environment.Located less than two miles from Lichfield city centre with good access off the main road A461. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pipe Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing