We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Spark Lichfield - CLOSED

The Spark Lichfield
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: By day, The Spark is a continental cafe bar open for brunch, lunch and coffee. Come the weekend, we open the restaurant at night with an a la carte menu formal dining. Our chefs cook your dishes to order using quality ingredients from our local suppliers, giving us Taste of Staffordshire accreditation. Our drinks menu features wine from a local wine merchants, and espresso coffee sourced from an independent supplier. Whether you're visiting us for a pit-stop or enjoying a special dinner, we warmly welcome you to relax in our unique atmosphere.
Lichfield, Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

After reading some good reviews, we decided to call in for Sunday brunch. The restaurant was full downstairs, so we took a table upstairs.

We ordered coffees and 2 brunches. The coffees were served, but minus any sugar so we had to wait a while before catching the eye of a waiter to bring us some sugar.

Then the meals arrived. What a disappointment! I ordered sauteed mushrooms and baked tomato on ciabatta. There were literally 4 little slivers of mushrooms. My husband ordered bacon, egg and mushrooms. The bacon was overcooked and the poached egg was hard and rubbery.

We commented to the waiter on the measly portion of mushrooms, and in fairness, he was very apologetic and bought some more.

We were disappointed with our experience at the Spark - we just wanted a nice relaxing brunch and ended up having to complain because nothing we ordered was upto scratch. I doubt if we'll return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello TravellingLady,

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience. On the day you visited, two new members of staff were working (both in the kitchen and front-of-house), and although it doesn’t excuse the issues you experienced, we know they’ve only made genuine mistakes. We’ve discussed your feedback with them and we’re happy that they’ll remember your points, so thanks for letting us know.

We’re pleased to read, however, that your complaint was dealt with effectively. If you did want to give us another go, please email Sejal and info@thesparklichfield.co.uk and she’ll personally look after you on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    38
    16
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegitarian Heaven”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We love the Spark and have been LOADS of times, evenings and day time. It’s impossible to get bored as the superb and imaginative menu changes every month. We have taken family and friends, it’s definitely our restaurant of choice for many reason: The food is wonderful, love the regular menu changes, fantastic vegetarian food, even my other half (big steak eater) has been converted, great ambiance and first rate service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello Deborah G,

Thanks for the fab review! It's always great to see you - we're really happy that you enjoy dining with us and the fact that you return is the best compliment we could wish for.

Best wishes,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb atmosphere, ambiance and lovely food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I have been to the Spark several times and have never been let down, day or night. The food is top class and the service has always been first rate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Matt K,

Thanks very much for the review! We're happy to read you enjoy visiting us day or night!

See you soon and thanks again,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always very good”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visit the Spark fairly regularly and have to say we always have a good meal. Last Friday we went to the Spark with friends and as usual had a wonderful evening good food, good service and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 369Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello 369Pat,

Thanks for your great review. The biggest compliment we can have is when customers return - we're very grateful for your support!

Best wishes and see you soon,

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just right!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had been here for lunch , brunch and just a coffee before but tonight after a hard week at work decided to eat dinner here on the way home. Turns out it was an excellent decision! The service was friendly and efficient. The food is good with ideal sized portions, it was nice to have a meal made with fresh seasonal ingredients and it is reasonably priced for the quality of the food. We will certainly return and would recommend it. Give it a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sejal P, Owner at The Spark Lichfield, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello Pauline H,

Thanks so much for the lovely review! It's great to read you've visited us at different times of the day and have enjoyed all your visits.

Best wishes and see you soon!

Sejal and Della (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spark Lichfield also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing