We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPALLING SERVICE AND TASTELESS FOOD..... AVOID”
Review of Bilash Spice

Bilash Spice
Ranked #77 of 156 Restaurants in Lichfield
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“APPALLING SERVICE AND TASTELESS FOOD..... AVOID”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Were do I start? We arrived at 7.35 and our main course didn't arrive until 9.25!! As only half of us had starters we had several very hungry diners. One of our party gave up and cancelled his order. Our main waiter was EXTREMELLY rude although the other 2 did put in more of an effort. In a party of 12 not one of us was happy with our meal. I only ordered a chicken salad with no onion and they even got that wrong, I was informed by our waiter though that this was my own fault..... Silly me! When asked by one of the other waiters if everything was ok, we told him our complaints and were told ''We are having a bad day but don't worry next time we will make it nicer for you!'' REALLY!!! You actually think we will be back????
To top off the evening on checking the bill, when they eventually brought it over, we realised they had scored through the actual amount due and rounded it up thereby overcharging us by almost £20. Throughout the evening we noticed takeaways and tables of up to 4 were served very quickly but larger tables were left waiting I can only assume this was because they thought (wrongly in some cases)that larger groups were drinking and less likely to realised how bad the service was and therefore less likely to walk out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chasbradmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Service shocking & food not that great”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

After waiting 25 minutes to order, 40 minutes for starters to come than a further 30 minutes for mains to come out after starters cleaned away, meals wrong when they did come out. Then the waiter was rude don't think like confrontation from a female the cheek of it they only tried to over charge us. Won't be going back in a hurry

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkci37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is our chill out and catch up place with friends. Great food, good service and friendly staff. Great prices too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppyBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've had”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food nice friendly staff & great service.
Tried it once been back again & it was perfect.
Can't wait to go back, lovely food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikimudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We've eaten at this restaurant several times and found the service good and the food pleasant. Tonight we had a beautiful meal, really excellent. There is a very good vegetarian selection and after some good poppadums we shared a garlic mushroom puree. Beautifully flavoured. I then had a chicken paneer shaslick, and my partner had a vegetable dhansak. Both were really good. We had bombay potato, tarka dhal and a garlic & cheese naan, the dhal especially was earthy, spicy, really tasty. Service was excellent and the fact that we can take our own booze is a bonus! Great meal, great value!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathyabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bilash Spice also viewed

Lichfield, Staffordshire
 
Lichfield, Staffordshire
Lichfield, Staffordshire
 

Been to Bilash Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing