We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, absolute quality”
Review of Swinfen Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at Swinfen Hall and never had such fantastic service. Every single person in the hotel was exceptional. Not just the reception staff, everyone. What an absolute gem. The building is magnificent, the grounds are tremendous, the food is incredible and the staff have made my birthday very very special. We would be delighted to recommend Swinfen Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I went here with three friends to have afternoon tea to celebrate a birthday and we weren t dissapointed . Upon arrical we were met by a young girl who showed straight to our table in a lovely room . We then asked whether we wanted tea or coffee , and offered a good selection of teas . We chose to have High tea with which you also have a glass of champagne. The sandwiches arrived with three different fillings. Staff were very attentive without being intrusive, they then bought out a cake tier with three types of homemade cakes , which were very scrummy !! Champagne added the final touch to a lovely afternoon out. Definately will visit again .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marymag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 days and everything about the hotel was superb,very grand and in beautiful surroundings, fantastic attentive staff who could not do enough for you and the food was the best I have ever tasted. Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone who would like to be made to feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We travelled up from Dorset for a 3 night stay. The hotel is beautiful with a very interesting history. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Each time we returned to the hotel a member of staff was waiting to open the door for us. Nice touch. Room was large and beautifully clean with large bed and lovely linen. We took our walking boots and took advantage of the lovely walk around the deer park and woods. Unfortunately due to developing a cold and not feeling too well we didn't get to have dinner in the restaurant but the bar meal, room service and breakfasts we had were excellent. Loved the open fires and relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion or just the chance to relax in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We booked for a two night stay and had a really wonderful stay. The Hotel is beautiful, very grand and superbly decorated to it`s original condition. Our room was a deluxe room on the top floor with wonderful views across the grounds and the deer park. The food was very very good, we had a meal in the main restaurant on the first night which was excellent and had a meal from the bar menu on the second night, which was equally as good. The cream tea was delicious. The staff are all extrememley friendly and helpful and made us feel very special and very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The only issue we had was that the room was not clean from green algae on the shower screen to wee splashes on the tiles, coffee stains on the wall and dusty mirrors and much more...
We did complain to the duty manager who was polite and promised to have the room cleaned .. Not impressed by any evidence of effort.
This is our first review we had ever made!
However the service and people were helpful and friendly and the restaurant was excellent

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Tony B

Thank you for the review you posted following your recent vist to Swifen Hall in February.

I am sorry that your first experience of Swinfen hall was marred by the issues you higlighted in your room. I would like to assure you that I have spoken with our Head Housekeeper and these porblems have now been addressed. I regret that these were not resolved at the time as they should have been.

I am delighted that your experience in the restaurant was more positive and and that you found the staff in general to be both helpful and friendly.

I do appreciate your honesty and hope you will not be deterred from returning to us in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Stuart Kennedy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were invited to a wedding and booked to stay mid week in a superior double......We were not disappointed!

Fantastic venue, the hotel has a very grand entrance, tennis courts and ample walks....it was a shame that dogs are not invited however perhaps that's wise as the deer might not appreciate it!

room was lovely, very spacious, wifi, HUGE bed which was very comfortable. everything spotless! Lovely cotton count on the bed linen which is a particular obsession of mine...

Lovely, friendly staff
Great wine list and the whiskey wasn't bad either!
Our meal was based In the hall, superbly served and was very tasty.

Loved the history of the place and it is a credit to the couple who own it. The attention to detail is second to none.

We will be returning!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwinfenHall, Manager at Swinfen Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Michelle H

Thank you so much for the review you posted following your recent stay in February as part of a wedding.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. The staff already aware of the positive feedback - something I can assure you that we don't take for granted.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future perhaps to one of our special Goumet Dinners, or to simply dine in our Four Seasons Restaurant.

Yours Sincerely

Stuart Kennedy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.5 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
2.8 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
5.2 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinfen Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £152 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing