We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Swinfen Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We got married in April with a Church wedding in the morning followed by our reception at swinfen hall hotel. We spent a long time after our engagement looking for the perfect venue and we were very fussy about what we were after. From the moment we saw Swinfen we fell in love with the place and once booked, everything ran like clockwork. Ruth – the weddings manager was our main contact who ensured all emails and correspondence was replied to quickly and effectively. The staff when phoning or visiting the hotel were always very friendly and always happy to help.
On the lead up to the wedding day we had a meeting with Stuart the operations manager to finalise all the details and we were ready for the big day! The day itself was perfect! We highly recommend booking exclusive use of the venue. For the addition cost it really does have it perks… full use of all the hotel including all the bedrooms for the guests wishing to stop overnight. You won’t see anyone at your wedding you don’t know and what’s more, the package comes with either a toastmaster or chair covers. We knew we wanted a toastmaster and so we booked the chair covers separately and we had their recommended toastmaster - the amazing John Taylor. He really gave a special touch to our wedding and we are so happy he was part of our day. He really went above and beyond to make our day special.
There were plenty of staff throughout the day to ensure all the guests were always seen to. The food on the day was perfect and all the guests we really happy with their food. Tasty and well presented. What’s more, all guests got the choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts which was chosen as part of the invitations that we sent out. There is also a great choice of food from the menu which they are happy allow something different if you speak to Chef.
There are no ridiculous hidden costs that we’ve seen with other venues like cutlery and washing up!! It’s a simple package with canapés, food and drink included with the option of exclusive use for extra.
The place itself is incredible if you like traditional décor. With that said, the bedrooms on the second floor are modern, but again, very well presented. A great place for pictures both indoors and outdoors (if the weather allows!).
To summarise – great venue, great staff, very well organised, great food, plenty of rooms for guests, great exclusive package. If you booked your wedding at Swinfen Hall you would not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I went to my favourite nieces wedding there, and we had an excellent day.
The staff operated like a well oiled machine when they served the food at the wedding breakfastbut they were also very thoughtful and kind.. my niece could not have picked a better venue for her wedding

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My daughter celebrated her wedding there , and I spent a night there. The most fantastic place for a special celebration, and the overnight stay was very good. The Staff were so attentive and kind,and went out of their way to make sure the newlyweds had a wonderful day. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Swinfen Hall earlier this week when on business in the Midlands.The place oozes quality and is backed up by fantastic service, excellent food, wonderful rooms and stunning surroundings. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff who took the extra mile in their stride!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank carpet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Swinfen Hall Hotel, a birthday treat from my husband. (27 - 28 March 2014).
We have stayed at many 5 star hotels and the majority are wonderful but Swinfen Hall stood out for its welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff, there is just a lovely homely feel about the hotel albeit wonderfully grand.
My husband booked the hotel through Secret Escapes and upgraded to the Samuel Johnson suite, which was perfect, gorgeous views, I loved watching the deer from the windows.
The food in the restaurants was exceptional, I believe many guest have commented on the culinary skills of the chef.
The owners really have got it right at this hotel, ensuring the grand Georgian buildings restoration and in engaging happy professional staff.
I hope we visit again soon, it really made my birthday treat special, thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank APSouthKilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A recent two night stay at Swinfen Hall was a most pleasant experience. The house itself is most impressive and has been tastefully restored. The gardens/grounds are beautiful, are well maintained and a joy to wander round. We ate in the Four Seasons restaurant the first night we were there and had an excellent gourmet meal beautifully served. The second night we decided to eat in the bar area. I would say that the bar menu could be improved. Also it is rather difficult to eat a hot meal off a coffee table. (There is only one 'proper' table in the bar). However the service of the meal and drinks in the bar was as pleasant as it was in the main dining room. Afternoon tea was included in our package and the scones and jam were delicious. We loved the real fires in the hotel and the general atmosphere. Our room on the second floor was excellent. The stairs to the second floor are quite steep. Being a listed building there is no lift. This was not a problem. We would definitely like to return to this hotel. The well trained and charming staff make it special.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank GinnybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently spent a few days at Swinfen Hall. The whole experience was fantastic. The service was impeccable - all the staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The breakfast, dinner and cream teas were all superb. We will be recommending this lovely hotel to all our friends and hopefully we will be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a traditional room (king size) on the first floor. If you have difficulty climbing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
2.5 mi away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
3.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
401 reviews
11 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
6.9 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinfen Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinfen Hall Hotel

Address: Swinfen, Lichfield WS14 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: £151 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinfen Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swinfen Hall Hotel is a beautiful Georgian manor house set in 100 acres of parkland incorporating formal gardens, a private deer park, wild hay meadows and woodland. Although the hotel has been described as 'an architectural gem' and is blessed with a wealth of historic features, we also embrace the creature comforts of the here and now. Flatscreen TVs, DVD players, IPOD docking stations and free wi-fi are standard in all our bedrooms alongside bathrobes, mineral water, a good selection of guest amenities and a well-stocked hospitality tray. In addition to our AA 2-rosette Four Seasons restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner, we have a Bar and Terrace menu for light snacks and offer a delicious traditional Afternoon Tea. We also have a magnificent oak-paneled Edwardian ballroom with a raised stage and fully-sprung dance floor, which is a wonderful venue for wedding receptions, presentations and private parties. We are proud to be an AA Inspectors Choice Red Star hotel - come and visit us and see what this means. Our little oasis of peace and calm lies on the A38, two miles south of the historic city of Lichfield, ½ a mile from the M6 toll road and only 20 minutes from the heart of Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swinfen Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinfen Hall Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing